Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
State provided resources
Alabama Virtual Library
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential information resources. Health related databases include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (full text articles for over 520 journals focusing on medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health topics) and Alt Health Watch (complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness). Also available is Academic Search Premier, a general interest database covering a wide range of subjects including medicine, nursing, and psychology.
Choose View all Resources to access a list of all available databases.
The Alabama Virtual Library is only for those living in Alabama but other states have similar programs, for example Georgia has Galileo and Mississippi has Magnolia.
Freely Searchable Resources With Some Full Text
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialized PubMed searches designed to connect clinicians to evidence-based literature. Results display available systematic reviews as well as research articles arranged by 5 clinical areas--Etiology, Diagnosis, Prognosis, Clinical prediction guidelines, & Therapy.
High quality evidence for health care decision making. This is the open-access version so is not completely full text, but some systematic reviews are freely available.
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Offers the ability to filter by several options including evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, primary research, and controlled trials.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services.
The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.