Searching For Information After Graduation: Health Statistics

County level.
Provides a means to create tables showing frequencies of Alabama resident births or deaths for 1990 through 2010 by county, race, marital status, age group, birth characteristics, etc.

County or Region level.
Includes resources for finding health-related data about Alabama counties and regions

U. S. City Level - Includes Auburn, AL
Regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty

County level.
The Rankings are based on a model of population health that emphasizes the many factors that, if improved, can help make communities healthier places to live, learn, work and play. Includes county level data on health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment

Hospital or primary care service area level.
Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

State level.
Rankings in current health topics such as obesity, smoking, and diabetes.

County and State Level
Information about health equity by state and county.

State level.
Interactive U.S. map to view state-specific health system performance on measures of access, quality, and health outcomes.

County and State level.
Information about Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs), Medically Underserved Areas/Populations, Health Workforce, Primary Health, Rural Health, etc.

County or State level.
Statistics about children's well-being including demographics, economics, education, family & community, health, safety & risky behaviors, and race & ethinicity

State and U.S. Level
Presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.

State and U.S. level.
The Office of Family Assistance (OFA) administers federal grant programs that foster family economic security and stability, including the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program and the Tribal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (Tribal TANF) program, Native Employment Works, Healthy Marriage and Responsible Fatherhood grants, Health Profession Opportunity Grants, and Tribal TANF- Child Welfare Coordination grants.

State level.
Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics.

State OR U.S. level.
Statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption.

U. S. and State Level
Has data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide.

State or U.S. Level
The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

State and U. S. level
The Cancer Statistics Center website is a comprehensive interactive resource for learning about the cancer burden in the United States. Includes state-level risk factor and screening metrics

State and U.S. Level
The chronic disease indicators (CDI) are a set of surveillance indicators developed by consensus among CDC, the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE), and the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD). For state level, choose Alabama then Go. Next page, choose the indicator of interest and click Go.

State and U. S. level.
Public Data Sets

State and U.S. level.
Online databases with a query system for the analysis of public health data.

State or U.S. Level
CMS Fast Facts includes summary information on total program enrollment, utilization, expenditures, as well as total number of Medicare providers including physicians by specialty area.
Use the CMS Data Navigator for State level info.

State and U.S. level.
Includes data from 5 national surveys (National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs, National Survey of Children's Health, National Health Interview Survey [NHIS]-Child, NHIS - Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Survey of Pathways to Diagnosis and Services). Links data to Healthy People 2020 topics, medical homes, medicaid perinatal, quality measurement, Title V topics

U.S. level.
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

U. S. level.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans

County, State or U.S. level.
Counts of Medicare Beneficiaries with Hospital/Medical and Prescription Drug Coverage, for all areas, state/territory, county.

The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

U. S. level.
A rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, they compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of those living in the U.S.

County, State, and U.S. level.
Provides access to maternal and infant health data, developed by the March of Dimes.

U.S. level.
Links to resources which offer statistics and information on a variety of health topics important to women and their families.

State or U.S. Level
Statistics on disability, fertility, service animals, the percentages of people with and without health insurance, and the expenses of health care establishments.

International Level
The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics. Can search by indicator, country, or theme.

International level.
Access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others

International level.
HealthStats is the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. Users can access HNP data by country, topic, or indicator,

International level.
Fact sheets on various topics by WHO (World Health Organization)