Subject Guides: Biological Sciences: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles

To find magazine/journal articles related to the life sciences, try the databases listed here. Other databases can be found on the Articles & Databases page. NOTE: If you are searching off-campus, you will need your AU ID and password

Journal Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Journal citation reports is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

Google Scholar Metrics Scholar Metrics currently cover articles published between 2007 and 2011, both inclusive. The metrics are based on citations from all articles that were indexed in Google Scholar as of November 15th, 2012. This also includes citations from articles that are not themselves covered by Scholar Metrics.
more...less...
Page opens to Life Sciences and Earth Sciences, more specific subcategories are available on the left.

General Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. (10 simultaneous users)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to much of the world's scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Results include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports, and scholarly articles available on the Web.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,400 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.

Locating Theses & Dissertations

AUETD This link opens in a new window Find research by Auburn University graduate students. Search by keyword or browse by academic department. Find research by Auburn University graduate students. Search by keyword or browse by academic department.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive index to dissertations and theses, covering the years from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published from 1980 forward contain abstracts and many have a 24-page preview. Most dissertations from 1995- are available in full text.

Ecology & Zoology

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers worldwide journal and report literature in biology, ecology, and management of freshwater and marine environments. 1978-Present

Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)

Zoological Record This link opens in a new window Equivalent of the printed Zoological record. Covers worldwide systematic zoological literature and other areas of zoology such as anatomy, morphology, physiology, reproduction, ecology, evolution, life history, and behavior. Coverage is from 1864 to the present.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window A collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Auburn University Libraries subscribe to the BioOne1 collection only.

Environmental Sciences

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A searchable database of information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, governmental, and general-interest titles dating back to the 1970s include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include climate change, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window This database covers the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects on drugs and other chemicals.