Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ArchiveGrid includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Archives of American Art (Smithsonian)
Terra Foundation Center for Digital Collections, a virtual repository of a substantial cross-section of the Archives' most significant collections.
Artists' Papers Register
A location register of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland
WorldCat is a database of more than 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. You can use the Advanced Search option to limit your search to “Archival Materials.”
Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Historical Newspapers Online Online indexing of the Times (London) from 1790-1980 and the New York times from 1851-1923. Indexes can be searched individually or in combination by names, events, and subjects with Boolean, proximity, wildcard, and truncation search operators. Also includes the full text of Times (London) articles from 1785 to 1870.