Subject Guides: Discovery: Indexes

Our Discovery Indexes

Discovery searches are powered by components that pass information back and forth to generate relevant results. One important element working in the background is the Index. The Index ties searches to the subscription resources owned by Auburn University. The following are the current indexes used by Auburn University Library.

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (Open Access)
A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals title list
These titles are said to be included in the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals

(!) Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index contains over 1,800 journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. More than 4.9 million records and 33.4 million cited references date back from 1975 to present.
more...less...
Our expert in-house editors use a single set of 28 criteria throughout the journal selection and curation process. Divided into 24 ‘quality’ criteria and four ‘impact’ criteria, our editors select the most influential journals in their respective fields (using citation activity as the primary indicator of impact) for the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Compared to the clinical, natural and social sciences, the arts & humanities may differ significantly regarding the type of content that is considered to be of scholarly importance, norms for reviewing content, and citation behaviour. The Web of Science™ editors give these differences due consideration when reviewing journals in these subjects for Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University. It offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
more...less...
It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land.
Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.
Biomedical Index
With 9,000+ journals, books, proceedings, blogs, and more, EBSCO’s Biomedical Index provides a wide range of peer-reviewed and scholarly content, including systematic reviews. The content helps clinicians, medical librarians and academic and corporate researchers quickly find resources relevant to medical topics that range from addiction medicine to population health, endocrinology to pharmacology, managed health care to institutional health, and pediatric nursing to geriatric nursing.
more...less...
EBSCO produces all of the records in the Biomedical Index, but the metadata available for searching and displaying vary depending on our agreement with the publisher and coverage rules. Some records contain only basic publication information (title, author, date, publisher) while others include author or EBSCO abstracts and author keywords or EBSCO subject indexing. Some records will include searchable full-text. No records will display full-text, unless you subscribe to the full-text through an EBSCOhost database (SmartLinks) or through EBSCO’s Subscription Service (SmartLinks+).
Complementary Index
This index contains journal articles, books, proceedings, and more from a wide range of publishers, including Elsevier, Wiley, Springer, Taylor & Francis, Sage, Nature Publishing, ACM, Oxford, Cambridge, and thousands of others. Full-text is indexed for searching but not displayed in EDS.
Daily Press Index
There is currently no available information
FIS Bildung Literaturdatenbank (German Education Index)
The German Education Index (FIS Bildung Literaturdatenbank) presents the most comprehensive compilation of educationally relevant references in the German language area. This service predominantly targets educational science (research and training), but it also delivers comprehensive services to educational practitioners (pre-primary school, primary and secondary education, special needs education etc.).
more...less...
The database records scholarly literature from all of the disciplines in educational science, as well as educational policy papers and practice-related texts and materials. Printed and online material published after 1980 is indexed: Journal articles, collective works, contributions to collective works, and monographs are described by keywords and occasionally abstracts. Users are assisted in obtaining titles by direct links indicating where journals are held in German libraries and other links informing about the obtainability of journals.
Library Literature & Information Science Index
Subjects covered include: Automation , Care and restoration of books, Cataloging, Censorship, Circulation procedures, Classification, Copyright, Electronic resources and ERM systems, Electronic searching, Government aid, Library equipment and supplies, Public relations, Publishing, Rare books, Reference services

Library Literature & Information Science Index title list
These titles are said to be included in the Library Literature & Information Science Index

Philosopher’s Index
Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Offering high-quality indexed records, The Philosopher’s Index covers all fields of philosophy and related disciplines and features research published since 1940. The publications covered in this comprehensive database hail from 139 countries and appear in 37 languages.
more...less...
Consistent indexing: a small team of twelve philosophers index the work using a custom, standardized thesaurus. Keywords are assigned for all records (except book reviews) using the standardized thesaurus, which contains more than 18,000 subject headings and 47,000 names of philosophers
Subjects Include
Aesthetics, Axiology, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic, Meta-philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophical anthropology, Philosophy of education, Philosophy of history, Philosophy of language, Philosophy of religion, Philosophy of science, Political philosophy, Social philosophy
(!) Science Citation Index Expanded
Created as SCI in 1964, Science Citation Index Expanded™ now indexes over 9,500 of the world’s most impactful journals across 178 scientific disciplines. More than 53 million records and 1.18 billion cited references date back from 1900 to present.
Our expert in-house editors use a single set of 28 criteria throughout the journal selection and curation process. Divided into 24 ‘quality’ criteria and four ‘impact’ criteria, our editors select the most influential journals in their respective fields (using citation activity as the primary indicator of impact) for the Science Citation Index Expanded.
(!) Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index™ contains over 3,400 journals across 58 social sciences disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals. More than 9.37 million records and 122 million cited references date back from 1900 to present.
Our expert in-house editors use a single set of 28 criteria throughout the journal selection and curation process. Divided into 24 ‘quality’ criteria and four ‘impact’ criteria, our editors select the most influential journals in their respective fields (using citation activity as the primary indicator of impact) for the Social Sciences Citation Index.
Supplemental Index
This index contains metadata only for journals, magazines books, newspapers, and more from a variety of publishers.
Textile Technology Index
Textile Technology Index contains records drawn from books, conferences, theses, technical reports and trade literature. Coverage spans the domestic and international arenas and includes publications covering major resources from the scientific community, as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring and polymer industries.
more...less...
Content Includes
180 active indexed and abstracted journals
113 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
Subjects include: Chemistry, Manufacturing techniques, Textile end products, Chemicals and dyes, Properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, Environmental issues, Biology, Physics

Textile Technology Index title list
These titles are said to be included in the Textile Technology Index

i. Most of these are hyperlinked to the index site.

ii. A few of the indexes have little to no published information on the web

(!) Indexes preceded by the exclamation point are part of the Web of Science Core Collection.

To search the specific index, use the pull down menu, "Editions" and select the index.