Sage Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods helps users to design, plan and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials and online journals.
A tool that is designed to guide you through your research project.
Defining a Topic
Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade (professional) publications each have different target audiences. This influences the content and format of the articles found in these periodicals. To learn more about the key characteristics of scholarly, popular, and trade publications, click here.
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.Key Themes, Applications and Contexts, Critical Orientations, Cultural Orientations, Cybernetic and Systems Orientations, Feminist Orientations, Group and Organizational Concepts, Information, Media, and Communication Technology, International and Global Concepts, Interpersonal Concepts, Non-Western Orientations, Paradigms, Traditions, and Schools, Philosophical Orientations, Psycho-Cognitive Orientations, Rhetorical Orientations, Semiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive Orientations, Social/Interactional Orientations Theory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry
The means to express conflict is through communication (verbal and nonverbal messages); likewise, the means to manage and address conflict is through communication. The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication emphasizes constructive conflict management from a communication perspective which places primacy in the message as the focus of conflict research and practice. Divided into four sections, plus a general introduction and conclusion, the Handbook focuses on contexts in which conflict occurs: interpersonal, organizational, community, and intercultural/international. Editors John Oetzel and Stella Ting-Toomey as well as expert researchers in the field have assembled in one resource the knowledge base of the field of conflict communication; identified the best theories, ideas, and practices of conflict communication; and provided the opportunity for scholars and practitioners to link theoretical frameworks and application tools.
Organizational communication as a discipline has grown tremendously over the latter part of the 20th century, but accompanying that growth has been a struggle to establish a clear identity for the field. The ongoing evolution of complex organizations in an equally complex global environment has scholars continuing to define and redefine the focus, the boundaries and the future of the field. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Communication, completely reconceptualized for this Third Edition, is a landmark volume that weaves together the various threads of this interdisciplinary area of scholarship.
This milestone handbook brings together an impressive collection of international contributions on micro research in organizational behavior. Focusing on core micro organizational behaviour issues, chapters cover key themes such as individual and group behaviour. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior Volume One provides students and scholars with an insightful and wide reaching survey of the current state of the field and is an indespensible road map to the subject area. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior Volume Two edited by Stewart R Clegg and Cary L Cooper draws together contributions from leading macro organizational behaviour scholars.
In this second volume of The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, the focus is on macro-organizational behavior, revealing ways in which the person and group affect the organization. Chapters are written by eminent and upcoming scholars in the field, each presenting on the major issues in organizational behavior as seen with a macro-lens. The Handbook is divided into three parts, the first introducing and framing the field; the second part considering the various organizational processes involved, including learning, teamwork, identity and power, among others, while finally Part Three introduces organizing on a macro-scale, covering topics such as organizational change, design governance and globalization.
The Handbook of Gender and Communication begins from the premise that gender is, at once, an aspect of both individual identity and of social structure that dramatically and relentlessly shapes individual and collective life. Communication is central to this process, and the Handbook brings together leading scholars in the area who review and evaluate the state of research on gender and communication through discussion of existing theories and research as well as through identification of important directions for future scholarship. The Handbook includes a general introduction and five sections that focus on primary contexts in which gender and communication are shaped, reflected and expressed: interpersonal; organizational; rhetoric; media; and intercultural/global.
"The SAGE Handbook of Race and Ethnic Studies is one of the best handbooks outlining the latest thinking on race and ethnic studies published in recent years...The breadth of themes and the depth of discussion are ambitious, offering the reader an A-Z guide of contemporary thinking on race and ethnicity...a valuable resource for scholars and activists alike."- Runnymede BulletinWhat is the state of race and ethnic studies today? How has the field emerged? What are the core concepts, debates and issues? This panoramic, critical survey of the field supplies researchers and students with a vital resource. It is a rigorous, focused examination of the central questions in the field today. The text examines: The roots of the field of race and ethnic studies. The distinction between race and ethnicity. Methodological issues facing researchers. Intersections between race and ethnicity and questions of sexuality, gender, nation and social transformation. The challenge of multiculturalism. Race, ethnicity and globalization. Race and the family. Race and education. Race and religion. Planned and edited by a distinguished team of Anglo-American scholars, the Handbook pools an impressive range of international world class expertise and insight. It provides a landmark work in the field which will be the measure of debate and research for years to come.