Subject Guides: Rhetoric and Composition: Welcome

Rhetoric and Composition Research Guide

Welcome! This guide is intended to help you find research on topics related to rhetoric and composition studies by highlighting relevant databases, journals, and other resources. The guide also includes information about using a variety of the Libraries' resources and services. If you have any questions or run into any issues with your research, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. You can contact the English & Psychology librarian, Jaena Alabi, directly, or you can contact the RBD Help Desk for more general questions.

Search Discovery

Databases: Starting Points

Use some of the databases below to find articles on topics related to rhetoric and composition. Your specific area of interest may determine which database is the best starting point. For instance, if you're focused on teaching writing, you might start with an education-related database.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.

Services for Faculty and Graduate Students

AubieExpress
Use AubieExpress to have print articles and book chapters scanned and delivered to you electronically. Articles & chapters must be in print format, under 50 pages, and owned by the AU Libraries. Login to ILLiad and click the AubieExpress button to use this service
Campus Delivery
Place a request to have books from our collections checked out and delivered to your departmental office on campus.

Rhetoric and Composition

English & Psychology Librarian

Rhetoric & Composition @ Auburn

Rhetoric and Composition Research Guide

Search Discovery

Databases: Starting Points

Services for Faculty and Graduate Students