Citation Generators
A number of the library’s research databases automatically generate citations or provide tips for citing their resources. Consult the database menu, under Help, or look for "How to Cite" links. Note: You should always check these automatically generated citations against citation style guides to make sure they are correct.
Citing Government Documents
Why Cite?
The primary reason for citing information sources is to acknowledge and credit the work of others. If you consult books, other print resources, or electronic resources (e.g., web pages, journal articles retrieved from library databases, etc.), you should cite these sources in your bibliography or “Works Cited” page.
Online Citation Style Guides
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
- Provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA and APA styles.
- Research and Documentation Online
- Provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE (formerly called CBE) styles. Sample citations provided. Select "Documenting Sources" from the online menu.
Print Citation Style Guides
The following style manuals are located at the Reference Desk (RBD Library, 2nd floor) or in the general collection:
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 G53)
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (BF 76.7 .P83)
- Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (T 11 .S386)
- The Chicago Manual of Style (Z 253 .C57)
- A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations (LB 2369 .T8)
Ask a Librarian
Chat
Click the icon below to chat with one of our information professionals. If a librarian is not available you can send us an e-mail and we will get back to you within 24-48 hours. For phone reference during regular library hours call 844-1737.
Phone
Phone: 334-844-1737
Toll Free: 800-446-0387

Loading...
