Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended to help you 1) locate the ≥10 research articles on your topic; and 2) write an annotated bibliography in the correct citation style.
Please feel free to email me anytime. You can also schedule an in-person or zoom consultation using the link below my profile picture.
Essential Databases and Search Engines
Use the search tools listed below to help you find articles related to your topic. Each one includes slightly different information and has pros and cons associated with its use. I recommend trying them all!
Web of Science Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
Google Scholar Provides access to much of the world's scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Results include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports, and scholarly articles available on the Web.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Covers worldwide literature on biology, ecology, and management of freshwater and marine environments. The complete database contains over 500,000 records to references from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and selected books since 1978.
Zoological Record Equivalent of the printed Zoological record. Covers worldwide systematic zoological literature and other areas of zoology such as anatomy, morphology, physiology, reproduction, ecology, evolution, life history, and behavior. Coverage is from 1864 to the present.
***In order to gain full access to articles, be sure to use the links on this course guide or log in through the AU Libraries website***