Subject Guides: COMM 7010: Qualitative Research Methods: Primary Sources

The Oxford English Dictionary's definition of the word "primary":

1. Occurring or existing first in a sequence of events; belonging to the beginning or earliest stage of something; first in time....

17. In the context of academic research or writing: designating source material contemporary with the period or thing studied; designating an original document, source, or text rather than one of criticism, discussion, or summary.

"primary, adj. and n.". OED Online. December 2019. Oxford University Press. (accessed February 05, 2020).

Image originally published in Pennsylvania Journal and Weekly Advertiser. 10/31/1765. Retrieved from "Stamp Act Crisis, 1765-1766," Making the Revolution: America, 1763-1971

AU Special Collections & Archives

Auburn University Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections & Archives collects, preserves, makes available, and publicizes institutional records, personal manuscripts, photographs, rare books, and selected artifacts in support of the research, teaching, and outreach missions of Auburn University.
Auburn University Libraries Digital Collections
The Auburn University Digital Library provides access to unique materials digitized from library collections and to scholarly research by members of the Auburn University community.

Primary Sources on the Web

American Memory Collections (Library of Congress)
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Bodleian Library Digital Collections
Densho Digital Repository "Hear the story of the Japanese American incarceration experience from those who lived it, and find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath."
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Internet Archive
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Cornell University Library Making of America Collection Digitized and text-searchable versions of the most popular 19th-century magazines, including The Atlantic, The Century, The Galaxy, Harper’s New Monthly Magazine, The Living Age, The North American Review, Putnam’s Monthly, Scientific American, Scribner’s, and The United States Democratic Review (that last one popularized the phrase Manifest Destiny and was edited by John O’Sullivan).
New York Public Library: Public Domain Collections
Public Domain Review - Collections "With a leaning toward the surprising, the strange, and the beautiful, we hope to provide an ever-growing cabinet of curiosities for the digital age, a kind of hyperlinked Wunderkammer – an archive of materials which truly celebrates the breadth and variety of our shared cultural commons and the minds that have made it."
WGBH Open Vault
more...less...
The WGBH Media Library and Archives records are largely organized around the broadcast series and programs for which materials were created. Collections contain records organized around a particular topic, material type, or grant-funded project. Series aired on WGBH and/or PBS.

Selected Primary Source Databases

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

Isabel Altamirano

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

231 Mell St.
Auburn, AL 36849

Student Question/Office Hour - Mondays, noon to 1 p.m. Library Help Desk personnel can call me. I will meet you at the Desk.

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations