Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials and online journals. Included are the complete series of Little Green Books (quantitative methods) and Little Blue Books (qualitative methods).
Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides, and More
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by
Call Number: P 91.3 .S24 2017 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
The Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research by
Call Number: HM 133 .H354 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-08
The Handbook establishes a central resource for the field, documenting and synthesizing the work done in group communication scholarship's fifty-year history. With contributions from the most experienced and respected scholars in the field, editor Lawrence R Frey presents an overview of group communication study, from its beginnings in pedagogy to its status as a mature discipline with a variety of theoretical positions and methodological practices.
Research Design by
Call Number: H 62 .C6963 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Designing Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .M277 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Addressing the complexity, flexibility, and controversies of qualitative research's many genres, Designing Qualitative Research, Sixth Edition gives students, research managers, policy analysts, and applied researchers clear, easy-to-understand guidance on designing qualitative research. While maintaining a focus on the proposal stage, this best-selling book takes readers from selecting a research genre through building a conceptual framework, data collection and interpretation, and arguing the merits of the proposal. Extended discussions cover strategies that researchers can use to address the challenges posed by postmodernists, feminists, and critical race theorists, as well as others who interrogate historical qualitative inquiry. The book also includes thoughtful discussion on trustworthiness and ethics, in addition to dealing with time, resource, and political stressors inherent to the research process. Throughout the book, the authors emphasize the importance of being systematic but also inspire readers with potential "Aha!" moments and opportunities to do research in close connection with people and communities. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
The Sage Handbook of Action Research by
Call Number: HM 571 .S325 2015 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2015-06-19
The third edition of The SAGE Handbook of Action Research presents an updated version of the bestselling text, including new chapters covering emerging areas in healthcare, social work, education and international development, as well as an expanded 'skills' section which includes new consultant-relevant materials. Building on the strength of the previous landmark editions, Hilary Bradbury has carefully developed this edition to ensure it follows in their footsteps by mapping the current state of the discipline, as well as looking to the future of the field and exploring the issues at the cutting edge of the action research paradigm today. This volume is an essential resource for scholars and professionals engaged in social and political inquiry, healthcare, international development, new media, organizational research and education.
Constructing Grounded Theory by
Call Number: H 61.24 .C45 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-09
This second edition explores how to effectively focus on data collection- demonstrates how to use data for theorizing- adds two new chapters that guide you through conducting and analysing interviews in grounded theory - adds a new chapter on symbolic interactionism and grounded theory- considers recent epistemological debates about the place of prior theory- discusses the legacy of Anselm Strauss for grounded theory. This is a seminal title for anyone serious about understanding and doing grounded theory research.
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Volume 1: Foundations by
Call Number: BF 39 .O927 2013 v.1 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
Research today demands the application of sophisticated and powerful research tools. Fulfilling this need, The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology is the complete toolbox to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods. It begins with essential philosophical and ethical issues related to science and quantitative research. It then addresses core measurement topics before delving into the design of studies. Principal issues related to modern estimation and mathematical modeling are also detailed. Topics in the handbook then segue into the realm of statistical inference and modeling with chapters dedicated to classical approaches as well as modern latent variable approaches. Numerous chapters associated with longitudinal data and more specialized techniques round out this broad selection of topics.
Qualitative Data Analysis by
Call Number: H 62 .M437 2020
Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Miles, Huberman, and Saldaña's Qualitative Data Analysis: A Methods Sourcebook is the authoritative text for analyzing and displaying qualitative research data. The Fourth Edition maintains the analytic rigor of previous editions while showcasing a variety of new visual display models for qualitative inquiry. Graphics are added to the now-classic matrix and network illustrations of the original co-authors. Five chapters have been substantially revised, and the appendix's annotated bibliography includes new titles in research methods. Graduate students and established scholars from all disciplines will find this resource an innovative compendium of ideas for the representation and presentation of qualitative data. As the authors demonstrate, when researchers "think display," their analyses of social life capture the complex and vivid processes of the people and institutions studied.
SAGE quantitative research methods by
Call Number: H 62 .S278 2011 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2011
Organised thematically, this collection provides a selection of the best articles in quantitative methods, taken from SAGE journals.--Provided by publisher.
Quantitative research for the qualitative researcher by
Call Number: Q 180.55 .Q36 O39 2014 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2014
O'Dwyer and Bernauer promote understanding and appreciation of the quantitative tradition in the social sciences, especially for those who are most familiar with the qualitative tradition. The authors demonstrate that these two research traditions are complementary and that the primary components of good research--problem quality, design quality, evidence quality, and procedural quality--apply equally to both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. By providing rich pedagogy throughout the book the authors give students ample support and guidance. Each chapter begins with an outline, key terms are defined throughout, and discussion questions conclude each chapter. Connections to Qualitative Research and Review of Published Research sections offer students opportunities to make connections to their current base of knowledge and to see the concepts described in the book being applied in real research
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .O95 2014 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers in the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field. The first two sections explore the history of the field, ethics and philosophical/theoretical approaches. The next three sections focus on the major methods of qualitative practice as well as newer approaches (such as arts-based research and internet research); area studies often excluded (such as museum studies and disaster studies); and mixed methods and participatory methods (such as community-based research). The next section covers key issues including data analysis, interpretation, writing and assessment. The final section offers a commentary about politics and research and the move towards public scholarship.
The Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .H2455 2000 [Shelved in Reference Collection]
Publication Date: 2000-03-18
This Second Edition features six new chapter topics, including, among others, auto-ethnography, critical race theory, applied ethnography, queer theory, and testimonio. Another 15 chapters are written by new contributors. And every chapter in the book has been thoroughly revised and updated.
Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .H2455 1994
Publication Date: 1993-12-20
The Handbook is the first attempt to synthesize the huge amount of activity and change there has been in recent years in qualitative research. Contributors to this authoritative volume come from a diverse range of disciplines and countries, making it an essential resource and benchmark for anyone doing work in this international, interdisciplinary tradition. The book moves from the theoretical to the specific, examining the various paradigms for doing qualitative work, the strategies developed for studying people in their setting, and a variety of techniques for collecting, analyzing, interpreting and reporting findings. Issues of history, ethics, settings and the future of the discipline - both in traditional and applied work - are also examined.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .H2455 2018
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions.
Strategies of Qualitative Inquiry by
Call Number: H 61 .S8823 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-24
Strategies of Qualitative Inquiry, Fourth Edition is Volume II of the three-volume paperback versions of The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, Fourth Edition.This portion of the handbook consists of the topics addressed in "Part III: Strategies of Inquiry." Strategies of Qualitative Inquiry, Fourth Edition isolates the major strategies- historically, the research methods- that researchers can use in conducting concrete qualitative studies. The question of methods begins with questions of design and the matters of money and funding. These questions always begin with the researcher who moves from a research question to a paradigm or perspective, and then to the empirical world. The history and uses of these strategies are explored extensively in this volume. The chapters move from forms (and problems with) mixed methods inquiry to case study, performance and narrative ethnography, to constructionist analytics to grounded theory strategies, testimonies, participatory action research, and clinical research.
Doing and Writing Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H 62 .H592 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
With a strong focus on using less traditional forms of data, Doing & Writing Qualitative Research provides a new perspective on issues such as the role of the researcher and the impact they have on data, and also considers the impact of social, cultural, and political complexities across a range of disciplines. Approachable and logically structured, the new Third Edition expertly sets out the many roles of writing in research. From the more theoretical subjects (e.g. research strategies, data types, and writing styles) to the nitty gritty practicalities (e.g. conventions, taking notes, and writing questions), each chapter covers many common concerns writers face when attempting to transform complex data and real world research experiences into textual products. With fully updated examples and case studies as well as a strong focus on using less traditional forms of data like photographs, personal narrative, and creative non-fiction, Doing & Writing Qualitative Research introduces students to modern opportunities in data collection and sourcing that adds depth to their research. Find out how to: - Establish and construct research questions, frameworks, and paradigms - Engage with different styles and media of data - Present ideas clearly and persuasively - Approach sensitive issues of identity and avoid reductive judgements - Discover your individual writing voice Through its accessible advice and its exploration of social, cultural, and political complexities across disciplines, this book is appropriate for both novices and more experienced researchers and forms an essential tool for students engaging in qualitative research across a variety of fields.
Qualitative Research Methods for the Social Sciences by
Call Number: H 61 .B4715 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
This text shows novice researchers how to design, collect, and analyze qualitative data and then present their results to the scientific community. It also stresses the importance of ethics in research and taking the time to properly design and think through any research endeavor.
Composing Qualitative Research by
Call Number: T 11 .G63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-08-03
Organized around an extended metaphor of "story," this book provides both theoretical and practical guidance for students and researchers who need to transform their qualitative data into a coherent manuscript (essay, dissertation, article for publication, professional writing, etc.). Each chapter covers a different aspect of creating a story: finding the intended audience, crafting and developing the storyline, characterizing the storyteller, and rewriting the story for publication. Composing Qualitative Research is highly recommended for professionals and students across the social sciences and management.Key Features: Now expanded, Chapter 5 takes an extensive look at manuscripts prior to publication. The text offers useful strategies for addressing the writing issues that researchers face when shepherding a manuscript from invention to publication. The book includes real-world examples drawn from many disciplines and publications to demonstrate styles, concepts, challenges, and potential outcomes from writing qualitative research.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
Call Number: H 61 .C73 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Qualitative Methods in Psychology by
Call Number: BF 76.5 .Q3368 2011 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
"This book provides an introduction to four widely used qualitative research methods, followed by a detailed discussion of a pluralistic approach to qualitative research¿makes exceellent use of questions both in order to help the reader gain clarity as well as to encourage reflexivity" The Psychologist, May 2012
Analyzing Qualitative Data by
Call Number: H 62 .B438 A53 2017
Publication Date: 2016-07-29
The fully updated Second Edition presents systematic methods for analyzing qualitative data with clear and easy-to-understand steps. The first half is an overview of the basics, from choosing a topic to collecting data, and coding to finding themes, while the second half covers different methods of analysis, including grounded theory, content analysis, analytic induction, semantic network analysis, ethnographic decision modeling, and more. Real examples drawn from social science and health literature along with carefully crafted, hands-on exercises at the end of each chapter allow readers to master key techniques and apply them to their own disciplines.
Strategies and Tactics of Behavioral Research by
Call Number: BF 76.5 .J63 2009 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
Highlights of the new third edition include: Rewritten in a straightforward and accessible style for students without a background in this area, this edition features many more field-based examples and applications. Increased focus on the application of research methods to the needs of practitioners in measuring behavior change and evaluating interventions under field conditions. Increased use of learning aids, including a "built-in study guide," summary tables, figures, boxed discussions of special topics, key terms with definitions, chapter summaries, suggested readings, discussion questions and exercises, and a glossary. Instructor''s resource materials available on a password-protected website with digital access to figures, tables, definition of new terms by chapters, multiple choice test questions, and content from the book''s learning aids, including study guide questions and suggested topics for class discussion and exercises. With a focus on direct behavioral measurement and within-subject design, this book is intended for advanced undergraduate or graduate courses in behavioral research methods, basic or applied behavior analysis, or single-/within-subject design taught in psychology (especially clinical and counseling psychology), social work, education, developmental disabilities, and other social and health science programs that deal with human behavior in research or practice settings.
Meta-Analysis in Social Research by
Call Number: H 62 .G 517
Publication Date: 1981-06-01
`...the authors have clearly tackled, over several years, a variety of problems and have brought to bear on them a wide range of statistical techniques...These techniques are presented in an eminently readable way and were clearly investigated in response to real problems arising from the data. The book would thus serve well as revision reading for students of statistics...may be another contribution from the field of educational research which proves to be of major importance to social science in general.′ -- The British Journal of Mathematical and Statistical Psychology, Vol 35, Part 2, November 1982 `This book does much to show the way, point out the pitfalls, and indicate the potential rewards to the user of meta
Meta-Analytic Procedures for Social Research by
Call Number: H 62 .R6565 1991
Publication Date: 1991-05-01
Praised in the first edition for the clarity of his general framework for conceptualizing meta-analysis, Rosenthal′s revised edition covers the latest techniques in the field, such as a new effect size indicator for one size data, a new coefficient of robustness of replication, new procedures for combining and comparing effect sizes for multiple dependent variables, and new data on the magnitude of the problem of incomplete retrieval (the file drawer problem).
SAGE Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research by
Call Number: H 62 .S325 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-21
Examines all aspects of mixed methods research across a variety of disciplines. Key Features: Covers all aspects of inquiry from conceptualizing research to selecting methods, analyzing and interpreting data, and reporting findings. Draws on the work of a mix of internationally recognized researchers as well as new and emerging researchers to provide a diversity of perspectives. Gives specific examples from a wide range of disciplines to help readers understand the issues and controversies in this evolving area. Presents rich material for discussion and new ideas for implementing mixed methods research to provide readers with a cutting-edge resource. Provides pedagogical tools such as learning objectives, discussion questions and exercises, and extensive cross referencing
Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research by
Call Number: H 62 .T244 2003
Publication Date: 2002-08-15
The Handbook contains articles by leading scholars on what has come to be known as the third methodological movement in social research. Aimed at surveying the differing viewpoints and disciplinary approaches of mixed methods, this book examines mixed methods from the research enterprise to paradigmatic issues to application. The book also discusses the strengths and weaknesses of mixed methods designs, and provides an array of specific examples in a variety of disciplines, from psychology to nursing.
Mixed Methodology: Combining Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches by
Call Number: H 62 .T247 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-24
Looking for a practical guide to using mixed methodologies? This book explores the most effective way to combine qualitative and quantitative techniques. It begins with a discussion of the paradigm wars between positivism and constructivism, explains the difference between using mixed methods in just the research methodology portion of a study versus using mixed model studies across all phases of the process, and then presents a typology of mixed methods and mixed model studies.
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches by
Call Number: H 62 .C6963 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Call Number: H 62 .C6962 2018
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition, John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Call Number: H 62 .C5857 1979b
Publication Date: 1979-01-02
A statistics textbook appropriate for graduate students and researchers conducting quasi-experimental design and analysis.
Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Designs for Research by
Call Number: Q 175 .C23
Publication Date: 1966-01-02
A survey drawn from social-science research which deals with correlational, ex post facto, true experimental, and quasi-experimental designs and makes methodological recommendations. Bibliogs.
Meta-Analysis in Social Research by
Call Number: H 62 .G517
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
"...the authors have clearly tackled, over several years, a variety of problems and have brought to bear on them a wide range of statistical techniques...These techniques are presented in an eminently readable way and were clearly investigated in response to real problems arising from the data. The book would thus serve well as revision reading for students of statistics...may be another contribution from the field of educational research which proves to be of major importance to social science in general." [The British Journal of Mathematical and Statistical Psychology, Vol 35, Part 2, November 1982 ]
The Content Analysis Guidebook by
Call Number: HM 529 .N47 2017
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
Content analysis is one of the most important but complex research methodologies in the social sciences. In this thoroughly updated Second Edition of The Content Analysis Guidebook, author Kimberly Neuendorf draws on examples from across numerous disciplines to clarify the complicated aspects of content analysis through step-by-step instruction and practical advice. Throughout the book, the author also describes a wide range of innovative content analysis projects from both academia and commercial research that provide readers with a deeper understanding of the research process and its many real-world applications.
Content Analysis in Communications Research by
Call Number: P 87 .F6 no.1
Publication Date: 1952
"With the publication of this book, The Free Press adds another significant item to its growing series of important social science works. Berelson's survey of content analysis procedures is an indispensable handbook for anyone working in the field. It is also a clear and comprehensive survey for social scientists whose interest in content analysis is ancillary..."
[Ithiel de Sola Pool. (1952). American Sociological Review, 17(4), 515-516. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/2088029]
Content Analysis for the Social Sciences and Humanities by
Call Number: P 93 .H65
Publication Date: 1969-03-01
This book is designed for the beginner as well as for the professional social scientist of humanist. The book integrates a model of the communication process, research designs, and techniques of content analysis. There is extensive discussion of the role of computers, the use of which enables the analyst to forego many of the most laborious research tasks in order to devote more time to the more creative aspects of their work.
Content Analysis by
Call Number: P 93 .K74 2019
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
Organized into three parts, Content Analysis first examines the conceptual aspects of content analysis, then discusses components such as unitizing and sampling, and concludes by showing readers how to trace the analytical paths and apply evaluative techniques. The Fourth Edition has been completely revised to offer readers the most current techniques and research on content analysis, including new information on reliability and social media. Readers will also gain practical advice and experience for teaching academic and commercial researchers how to conduct content analysis.
Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research by
Call Number: GN 345 .L43 2010 ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
This is Book 1 of 7 in the Ethnographer's Toolkit, Second Edition. The Ethnographer's Toolkit series begins with this primer, which introduces novice and expert practitioners alike to the process of ethnographic research, including answers to questions such as who should and can do ethnography, when it is used most fruitfully, and how research projects are carried out from conceptualization to the uses of research results. Written in practical, straightforward language, this new edition defines the qualitative research enterprise, links research strategies to theoretical paradigms, and outlines the ways in which an ethnographic study can be designed. Use Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research as a guide to the entire Toolkit or as a stand-alone introduction to ethnographic research.