Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library Class Guide for FOWS 5270: Natural Resources Policy! The purpose of this guide is to provide you easy access to databases and other research tools that will help you locate information for your bibliographies, presentations, and papers.
Essential Search Tools
Nexis Uni Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
Westlaw WestlawNext is a online legal research tool that includes: Decisions and case law from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts in addition to over a million unpublished cases; Laws from all 50 states and federal statutes as published in the United States Code Annotated; Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence 2d; and law review and legal journal articles.
HeinOnline Searchable database of legal and government information that includes full-text documents for Case Law, U.S. Statutes, U.S. Congressional materials, all U.S. treaties, the State Constitution of Alabama, and other Alabama resources, as well as many other collections, treatises, and presidential documents. Auburn University's paid subscription includes HeinOnline Academic, FastCase Premium, and the Alabama State Package, as well as multiple databases made freely available by HeinOnline.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of high impact journals; includes full abstracts as well as links to literature cited, citing articles, related articles
Google Scholar Provides access to much of the world's scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Results include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports, and scholarly articles available on the Web.
Technical reports, conference proceedings, scientific journal articles, and other miscellaneous publications by researchers in the US Forest Service
National Technical Reports Library
Historical and current federal government technical reports
Newspapers, legal cases, federal and state laws, business information
Access World News
Local and regional newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, etc.
Natural Resources Librarian