Graphic Novels and Comics in Juvenile Literature

"Graphic Novels Core Collection covers a variety of genres including adventure, biography, fantasy, superhero, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction and more. Standards for rating materials by age appropriateness are strictly applied. This content can be used for collection development, readers’ advisory and curriculum support.

Features include: Comprehensive annotations, including review excerpts and awards the title has won; Full-text book reviews of recommended titles; All titles searchable by author, title, subject, genre and grade level; Applied standards for rating material by age appropriateness; Cover art"

Description provided by EBSCO

Children's Core Collection and its archive are the electronic versions of Wilson's standard reference work of the same name. Children's Core collection is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction, story collections, and picture books are designated Fic, S C, and E.

Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes selective lists of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.

A selective list of books recommended for people in grades 9 through 12, Senior High Core Collection is useful for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Included are review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.

The CLCD presently contains more than 600,000 catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned. These records come with all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. In addition, the database contains more than 70,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults, and an average of more than 1000 new reviews are added to the database monthly.