Subject Guides: Media Studies: MDIA Databases

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

231 Mell St.
Auburn, AL 36849

Student Question/Office Hour - Tuesdays, noon to 1 p.m. Library Help Desk personnel can call me. I will meet you at the Desk. Other times are available, including evenings and weekends, but it will be held on Zoom.

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations

Search Discovery

Hint: Searching for film literature is sometimes problematic because of all the terms that can be used to describe films. Utilize boolean logic by included the following search string, without the parentheses, (film* or movie* or "motion picture*" or cinema) as part of your search. The asterisk acts as a truncation device and will give you alternate endings to the word—film or films and movie or movies. The quotation marks indicate a phrase.

Media Databases

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 2: Cinema, Film and Television This link opens in a new window EIMA features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines, including Variety and Broadcasting, which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK between 1905 and 2000. A best bet for Media Studies.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan, and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials, online journals, streaming videos, and cases. Includes information about quantitative and qualitative data analysis with sample data, business research, medicine and health research, data visualization, and doing research online.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Center covers 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with additional coverage for 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes electronic versions of many of Gale's reference publications: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Merriam Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribner Writer's Series (for example, covering African American Writers, Latin American Writers, Science Fiction Writers, Supernatural Fiction Writers), Twayne World Authors (200 authors), Twayne US Authors (200 authors), and Twayne English Authors (200 authors).
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full-text of newspaper articles from the New York Times covering 1857 to the last few years.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles about classical and popular music from more than 640 international music periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window Contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the years 1890 through 1982.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window A major collection of U. S. federal government documents, the U. S. Congressional Serial Set consists of bound volumes of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. The digitization of the Serial Set is being done in stages by the Readex company and is part of the Archive of Americana series of databases and currently is available for the 15th. - 58th. Congress (1817-1904). Eventually, this database will provide coverage through the 96th. Congress (1980). This database can be searched and browsed. PDF images of all documents are available for downloading and printing.

Communication Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window PAIS International (1972-current) covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan, and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials, online journals, streaming videos, and cases. Includes information about quantitative and qualitative data analysis with sample data, business research, medicine and health research, data visualization, and doing research online.

Sociology Databases

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window A primary resource for research sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window An online resource developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) to serve the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Anthrosource brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues to 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Available in English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Academic, radical, community and independent publications from 1970 to the present. GenderWatch supports gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies by covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window Organized by historiographic questions, each of which includes an interpretative essay and related primary source materials. It also includes book, film, & website reviews, as well as teaching strategies.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan, and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials, online journals, streaming videos, and cases. Includes information about quantitative and qualitative data analysis with sample data, business research, medicine and health research, data visualization, and doing research online.

Web Sites

FCC
The International Central Institute for Youth and Educational Television (IZI) Database
Internet Archive
The Internet Movie Database
Lantern
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
Media History Digital Library: Online Access to the Histories of Cinema, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound
The Paley Center for Media Collection