Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

New York Times Online: Getting Started

Extra! Extra! Read All About It!

Newsboy holding newspaper with large banner declaiming EXTRA!Faculty, students, and staff now have complimentary access to almost all of NYTimes.com thanks to a university wide subscription provided by Auburn University Libraries!

NYTimes.com covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. In addition, you will be able to share content on social networks, save articles of interest, subscribe to email newsletters and set up personalized alerts.


Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus. 

Note: You must be connected to a university IP address to register.

Creating an Account: New and Existing Subscribers

NOTE: To register you need to either be on a campus computer, or if off campus using the university's VPN.

Faculty and staff member passes are valid for 4 years. After the pass expires, just renew by re-entering your email address at accessnyt.com. Student passes expire on December 31 of their graduation year

Instructions for Creating New York Times User Accounts

NEW the New York Times Online (you've never subscribed or registered)

  1. Visit accessnyt.com to create an account (register using your auburn.edu email address).
  2. Type and select Auburn University Main Campus and follow the instructions.
  3. If you encounters an error message, please email edu@nytimes.com.

EXISTING Registered Subscribers (you currently have a paid subscription): 

  1. You will need to cancel your personal subscription by 
    1. Connecting with a chat agent on the site, OR
    2. Calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account.
  2. Once the subscription is canceled:
    1. Visit accessnyt.com
    2. Type and select Auburn University Main Campus and follow the instructions.  
  3. If you encounters an error message, please email edu@nytimes.com

EXISTING Registered Subscribers (you had access at one time, but currently do not):

  1. Visit accessnyt.com
  2. Type and select Auburn University Main Campus and follow the instructions.
  3. Click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account").
  4. Input your email address and the same “Password” created for your previous account. 
  5. If you encounters an error message, please email edu@nytimes.com

Mobile Apps:

You can download your free NYTimes smartphone or iPad apps from the App Store or on Google Play.

Features

  • International Edition: Edited from London, Hong Kong and New York, The International New York Times (formerly The International Herald Tribune) provides readers with a continuous flow of geopolitical business, sports and culture coverage from a distinctly global perspective. Users are able to read the International Edition with simple navigational tools on both the web and mobile apps. Users are also able to read the Chinese Edition, as well as the Spanish Edition on the web.
  • Search Feature: NYTimes.com provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. NYTimes.com features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author, and the ability to search for images only.
  • Historical Coverage: NYTimes.com institutional subscriptions provide full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through present. There is a restriction of downloads per day of five. Note: use ProQuest's Historical New York Times for unlimited downloads for 1851-2018.
  • TimesMachine: Browse  the newspaper archives, from Volume 1, Number 1 through 2002.
  • The New York Times Videos: from interactive maps to timelines and slide shows, dynamic multimedia brings out vital aspects of stories in new and compelling ways.

Restrictions

  1. You must have a valid Auburn email address to register.
  2. Our access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords, Times Insider or The New York Times Crosswords and Cooking apps.