Skip to Main Content
Head of Architecture, Construction, and Design Librarian
Databases for Architectural Research
A&Ae Portal This link opens in a new window
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, photography, and design. Innovative functionality and extensive metadata offer students and scholars exciting ways to discover and engage with content from Yale University Press and other leading university presses and museum publishers.
Architecture Design & Practice Online (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
Over 200 titles and 15,000 images focused on studio design and professional practice; this resource is fully cross-searchable with the Bloomsbury Architecture Library.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Avery Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
This collection traces the progress of American History and extensively covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II.
BuildingGreen.com This link opens in a new window
This database is intended to help building-industry professionals and students design and build construction projects that minimize ecological impact and maximize economic performance. Includes access to Environmental Building News articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Academic, radical, community and independent publications from 1970 to the present. GenderWatch supports gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies by covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database is designed primarily for K - 12 level students. It provides full text access to over 400 reference books and encyclopedias; over 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and over 100,000 images and maps. The History Reference Center also provides full text access to all articles in 52 history periodicals plus selected articles from a total of 500 periodicals.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection This link opens in a new window
With current and relevant content from industry journals, this collection provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, and economic aspects of tourism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism This link opens in a new window
Indulge with the wealthy as they experience health inspired visits to luxury spas. Assess the entrepreneurial activities of businessmen such as Thomas Cook who democratized longer-range travel. Discover the pleasures of nineteenth and twentieth century leisure travel and the dramatic growth of tourism for the masses. This collection charts the development of one of the world's largest and most culturally significant industries. The growth of leisure travel has profoundly influenced global society in the past two hundred years and the unique primary sources in this resource allow scholars and students to trace the evolution and impact of this phenomenon.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present. (3 simultaneous users)
