Subject Guides: Architecture: Images

Head of Architecture, Construction, and Design Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Architecture, Architecture, Design & Construction, Building Science, Industrial & Graphic Design

When viewing a catalog record of a book, watch out for the following clues:

When looking for books with architectural plans, consider adding these terms to your search:

World Architects: Projects
Discover structures by contemporary architects and building professionals.
UrbanNext
Find content focused on rethinking architecture in the contemporary urban.
Asian Historical Architecture
Use this photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage
Archnet
Find architecture information and images related to the Muslim world.
Architecture, Design + Engineering Drawings
https://www.loc.gov/collections/architecture-design-and-engineering-drawings/about-this-collection/

Architecture, Design & Engineering Drawings: Covers about 40,000 drawings, spanning 1600-1989. Building types range from the U.S. Capitol and Library of Congress to private residences and hamburger restaurants.
Historic American Buildings and Landscapes: Covers a wide range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. Features Frank Lloyd Wright, an Arizona collection, and Tucson images.
Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South: Features 7,100 photographs of early American buildings and gardens in the South, taken primarily in the 1930s but spanning 1927-1944.
Cities and Towns: Maps depict individual buildings to panoramic views of large urban areas. Maps record the evolution of cities illustrating the development and nature of economic activities, educational and religious facilities, parks, street patterns and widths, and transportation systems.
Highsmith (Carol M.) Archive: Features landmark buildings and architectural renovation projects in Washington, D.C., and throughout the United States.
Korab Collection: Covers 19 projects designed by architect Eero Saarinen.
Panoramic Maps: Show street patterns, individual buildings, and major landscape features in perspective.
Panoramic Photographs: Includes American cityscapes and landscapes.

Fifth Avenue, New York, from Start to Finish (1911)
- With the public domain remix Street View, Then & Now: New York City's Fifth Avenue, you can compare photos from the 1911 collection with 2015's Google Street View.
Apartment Houses of the Metropolis (early 20th century)
- With the public domain remix Mansion Maniac, you can explore mansion floor plans from the early 20th century in New York City.
Changing New York (primarily from the 1930s)
Robert N. Dennis Collection of Stereoscopic Views (more than 40,000 stereoscopic views documenting all regions of the United States)
Farm Security Administration Photographs (includes a variety of East Coast images)