The School of Architecture at Auburn University had its beginning with the establishment of a curriculum in architecture in 1907. In 1912, the Department of Architecture was established in the School of Engineering. The School of Architecture and Applied Art was founded in 1927. The school was renamed the School of Architecture in 1986. The school presently consists of the Departments of Architecture, Building Science and Industrial Design.
Contains design projects, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, departmental publications and student projects of the Auburn University School of Architecture from 1902 to 2002. Includes an extensive class project conducted in Salem, Alabama.
Contains instructional glass and plastic slides used by the School of Architecture and Applied Art from the 1930's to the 1960's. Includes images of buildings in Alabama, technical sketches and architectural plans and designs.
The Salem Seminar was a class project in an architecture course, Historical Perspectives, taught at Auburn University in 1983. Each student was assigned a historic building to survey in Salem, Alabama. Salem was first settled in 1834
Student assignments (1983), including, for each assignment, a tape and transcript of an oral history with a Salem resident, site plan, elevation drawings, pen and ink sketches of exterior and interior details, and photographs and slides
The Department of Industrial Design at Auburn University is a department within the College of Architecture, Design and Construction. An industrial design program was begun sometime in the late 1940's as part of the Art Department. The Industrial Design Department became independent of the School of Art and Architecture in 1986 when the university reorganized the schools into colleges.
Contains the office records of the Industrial Design Department at Auburn University from 1966 to 1990. Includes budget reports, enrollment statistics, annual reports, personnel records, department meeting minutes, evaluations, self-studies, research records and miscellaneous materials produced by the department.
Bannister held degrees from Denison, Columbia, and Harvard. He served as architecture dean at Alabama Polytechnic Institute and at the University of Florida. He received numerous awards and honors, and was a noted historian of architecture.
The collection of slides encompasses a wide variety of architectural styles from primitive to 20th century, and were created by Bannister to support his teaching.
The Student Advisory Council of the School of Architecture and Fine Arts at Auburn University was established in the late 1960's to discuss and resolve problems or complaints concerning policies, curriculum, grading, etc.
Contains the minutes of the Student Advisory Council of the School of Architecture and Fine Arts at Auburn University from October of 1970 to May of 1971.
Contains five historical studies of antebellum buildings in Alabama and South Carolina believed to have been created by students of the Architecture Department of Alabama Polytechnic Institute from 1927. Includes photographs, drawings and historical sketches of homes in Auburn, Birmingham, Tuskegee, and Montgomery, Alabama and Clemson, South Carolina.
Earl D. Layman, professor of architecture at Auburn University, received an Auburn University Research Grant-in-Aid in 1963 to survey 19th century architecture in Alabama and adjoining states. He and his students prepared a display of their work for the first Alabama Preservation Conference, held at Auburn Feb. 28-Mar. 3, 1963
Photographs, sketches and accompanying text (1963) of 19th century architecture, matted and mounted for display, plus index to buildings. Exhibit focuses on Alabama buildings but also includes buildings in Mississippi, Georgia and Tennessee.
Inventory available in repository
