Skip to Main Content
Give
Toggle Logins
Toggle Search
Renew books
Interlibrary Loan
Electronic Resources
Renew books
Interlibrary Loan
Electronic Resources
Site Index
People Finder
Site Index
People Finder
Toggle navigation
Toggle Search Area
Auburn University Libraries
LibGuides
Home
About
About the Libraries
The Libraries & Branches
Hours
Departments
Faculty & Staff
Contact
Floor Plans & Room Numbers
Plan a Visit
News and Events
Giving
Jobs
Message from the Dean of Libraries
Strategic Plan
Publications
Emergency Information
Find
Find
Discovery (articles, books, & more)
Articles and Databases
AU Scholarly Repository
Data Sets
AU Digital Library
E-Publications
AU Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Maps
Newspapers
Patents & Trademarks
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Standards
Reserves
• Course Reserves
• Textbook Reserves
Search Archival & Manuscript Collections
Services
Services
Circulation (checkout, renew, return, fines & fees)
Interlibrary Loan
AubiExpress
Courier Service
ALLIES
Research Support
Research Instruction & Information Literacy
Innovation & Research Commons
Print, scan, copy
• TigerPrint
• I&RC Printing
Study Rooms
Tutorials
Bloomberg Terminal
Laptop Checkout
Academic Partners
Suggest a Purchase
Alumni Services
Collections
Collections
AU Digital Library
Special Collections & Archives
AU Electronic Theses & Dissertations
AU Scholarly Repository
Juvenile Collection
Maps & GIS
Newspapers
Help
Ways we can help
Ask-A-Librarian
Research Consultations
Research Instruction & Information Literacy
Class Guides
Subject Guides
Subject Librarians
Workshops
Tutorials
Citation Tools
Copyright & Fair Use
Emergency Information
Auburn University Libraries
Subject Guides
Civil War
Major Reference Books
Enter Search Words
Search
Civil War
The purpose of this research guide is to provide an introduction to locating both primary and secondary library resources relating to the American Civil War.
Welcome
Secondary Sources: Books, Journal Articles, and Other Scholarly Resources
Major Reference Books
Primary Sources: Databases
Primary Sources: Newspaper Databases
Primary Sources: Microform Collections
Major Reference Books
American Civil War
by
Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: E 468 .A5329 2013
ISBN: 9781851096770
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
American National Biography
by
John A. Garraty (Editor); Mark C. Carnes (Editor)
Call Number: CT 213 .A68 1999
ISBN: 0195206355
Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
by
Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: E 185 .E545 2006
ISBN: 0195167775
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Also online.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
by
David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor); David J. Coles (Editor); Gary W. Gallagher (Editor); James M. McPherson; Mark E. Neeley (Editor)
Call Number: E468 .H47 2000
ISBN: 1576070662
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Historical Dictionary of the Civil War
by
Terry L. Jones
Call Number: E 468 .J777 2011
ISBN: 9780810878112
Publication Date: 2011
<<
Previous:
Secondary Sources: Books, Journal Articles, and Other Scholarly Resources
Next:
Primary Sources: Databases >>
American National Biography by 
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by 
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by 
