The purpose of this research guide is to provide an introduction to locating both primary and secondary library resources relating to the American Civil War.
Use the Auburn University Libraries Catalogto locate books (as well as other resources).
To locate journal articles you will want to use one or more of the library databases listed below.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowProvides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Military & Government CollectionThis link opens in a new windowMilitary and Government Collection provides access to nearly 350 military-related publications. Coverage includes many branch specific journals, general interest journals such as Macleans and a variety of law journals. Other links are to weapons platforms already published by the Government Printing Office as well as Department of Defense policy papers on strategic issues. As with other EBSCO materials, these articles can be emailed and printed.
Project MUSE - Standard CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
