Subject Guides: Civil War: Primary Sources: Newspaper Databases

Primary Sources: Newspaper Databases

The following databases provide full-text access to newspapers useful for Civil War research. Please NOTE: there are additional newspapers not found in these databases located in the Microform collections.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Accessible Archives is devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new window Provides a complete set of digitized pages, together with a manually indexed database which provides access to Harper's Weekly by category, topic, and time period, in indexes of the history, literature, advertising, illustrations, and names found in this diverse source.
America's Historical Newspapers: U.S. Civil War This link opens in a new window Full text/full page images of newspapers published during the American Civil War.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable database containing digital images of 19th-century newspapers presented as full page layouts as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. Collection includes newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers published for or by African Americans from 35 states. The collection includes many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles, including Freedom's Journal (NY)-the first African American newspaper published in the United States-The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN).
African American Newspapers, Series 2: 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window Features 75 newspapers published for or by African Americans from 22 states and the District of Columbia. Some key titles include Frederick Douglass's New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA).

Newspapers.com

Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 916 million+ pages of historical newspapers from 24,400+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond. [Description from the vendor] Provided by AU Libraries and the Philpott Fund for the Humanities and the Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts & Humanities.