Project 1 | Relation - LAND 5360/6360 (Urban Ecologies) - Subject Guides at Auburn University

Philosophy, Religious Studies, & Women's Studies Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Draughon (RBD) Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn University, AL 36849-5606

334-844-0236

Subjects: Gender Studies, Philosophy, Philosophy & Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

To find books, DVDs, guides, or encyclopedias about your assigned animal, search the library catalog.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Grzimek, Schlager, Olendorf et al
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004
A major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.
Handbook of the Mammals of the World by Paolo Cavallini
Call Number: QL 703 .H355 (4th Floor)
Publication Date: 2009
Nine volume set. Table of Contents: 1. Carnivores 2. Hoofed mammals 3. Primates 4. Sea mammals 5. Monotremes and marsupials 6. Lagomorphs and rodents I 7. Rodents II 8. Insectivores, sloths and colugos 9. Bats.
A Field Guide to the Birds by Roger T. Peterson
Call Number: QL 681 .P45 1980 (4th Floor)
Publication Date: 1980
An exhaustive guide to the birds found east of the Rockies.
Petersons Field Guide to Western Birds by Roger Peterson
Call Number: QL 683 .W4 P4 1990 (4th Floor)
Publication Date: 1990
This book covers the birds found in the Rockies and West plus a section on the Hawaiian Islands.
Encyclopedia of Insects by Resh & Cardé (Eds.)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Covering all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.

Animal Diversity Web
The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others. It is a rich and flexible resource designed both as an encyclopedia for exploring biodiversity and for use in formal, inquiry-based education
Birds of the World (Cornell Lab of Ornithology)
Research database of ornithology that includes more than 10,000 species of birds with range maps, eBird abundance maps, migration maps, color illustrations of species and subspecies, media galleries, avian taxonomy explorer, IUCN conservation status and more. Searchable using scientific names or common bird names. Continuously updated. (Log in with AU user name and password)
IUCN Redlist
Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
United States Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the American people.

Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service that offers award-winning collections of titles from filmmakers and film distribution companies like PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Other options:

Search the library catalog for DVD videos on your animal. (DVD players may be checked out from the Technology Lending desk in the Innovation & Research Commons, located on the 1st Floor of RBD Library.)
You Tube streams a number of free films and documentaries (try keyword searches that include "documentary" and/or "National Geographic", "PBS", or "BBC").
Search Just Watch to identify streaming options for films that you identify.