Project 2 | Condition - LAND 5360/6360 (Urban Ecologies) - Subject Guides at Auburn University

Philosophy, Religious Studies, & Women's Studies Librarian

Juliet Rumble

Email Me

Contact:

Draughon (RBD) Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn University, AL 36849-5606

334-844-0236

Subjects: Gender Studies, Philosophy, Philosophy & Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

Key Article Databases for Urban Ecology

To find articles on topics related to urban ecology, try searching the library databases below. Urban ecology is an interdisciplinary topic, so you may need to expand your search to include other subject databases.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, governmental, and general-interest titles dating back to the 1970s include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 art & architecture periodicals and more than 150 books.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study

Select Book Titles: Urban Ecology

Urban Ecosystem Ecology by A. Volder (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Urban Ecosystem Ecology takes on the important task of reconciling environmental sciences with the world's growing urbanization.
Urban Ecosystems by Adler & Tanner (Eds.)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Our planet is now a mosaic of ecosystems ranging from the relatively undisturbed to the completely built, with the majority of people living in urban environments. This accessible introduction to the principles of urban ecology provides students with the tools they need to understand these increasingly important urban ecosystems. It builds upon the themes of habitat modification and resource use to demonstrate how multiple ecological processes interact in cities and how human activity initiates chains of unpredictable unintended ecological consequences. Broad principles are supported throughout by detailed examples from around the world and a comprehensive list of readings from the primary literature.