Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Journal Articles
- Philosopher's Index
- An international bibliographic resource in philosophy. Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. "The database covers all fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, meta-philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion" (website).
- Coverage: 1940-present Scope: 1500 journals/139 countries.
- PhilPapers (This database is freely available to the general public)
- An index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using trawling techniques and crowdsourcing, PhilPapers editors monitor research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by philosophers and researchers in allied fields. Click here for more information about PhilPapers.
- A full-text database covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR provides access to the back files of hundreds of scholarly periodicals, starting with the first issues. Supports full-text and cross-disciplinary searching. Click here for a list of philosophy journals available for browsing:
- Coverage:Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Project Muse
- Provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The collection may be searched collectively or individually. Click here for a list of philosophy journals available for browsing.
- Coverage: 1990-present
- Academic Search Premier
- Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 scholarly journals. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- Coverage: 1975-present
- Business Source Premier
- Indexes several journals and books that focus on business ethics, including Journal of Business Ethics, Business Ethics Quarterly, Business Ethics: A European Review, Ethics of Competition (Book), Ethics and the Future of Capitalism- Praxiology (Book), Business & Professional Ethics Journal, Business Students Focus on Ethics-Praxiology (Book), Companion to Business Ethics (Book), Employee Responsibilities & Rights Journal, Social Choice & Welfare.
- Coverage: 1985-present
- The premier bibliographic resource for biomedical literature. Includes coverage of the humanities as they relate to medicine and health care. You may limit your search to journals in bioethics.
- Coverage: 1966-present
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason. You may limit your search to the subject areas of philosophy and religion.
- Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans
- Covers American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century. This database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period. Browsable subject categories include religion and philosophy.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Indexes critical scholarship in philosophy as it relates to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.
- Coverage: 1963-present
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
- The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Over 100,00 titles are available full-text.
Google Scholar is a Web-based search engine that enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, etc. Google Scholar is also useful for verifying citations.
Try your search below, or access Google Scholar from the library's Articles and Databases
page to view full text content available from AU Libraries.
Staying current with scholarship
Alerts are the most convenient way to stay current with scholarly literature. Click here for a guide to setting up table of contents alerts for the most recent issues of specific journals.