Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Veterinary Medicine: Finding Full Text

Searching the Library Catalog for Journals

Most of the time one can access online articles directly, especially when on-campus. But there are times when ...

             The link for an article asks for money
             There is no link for the full-text

At this point, you need to find out whether the library has either a print copy or online access to the journal. The only 100% fail-safe way to do this is to search the library catalog for the journal title.

In many cases it is possible to search with a journal title abbreviation (e.g., Equine Vet. J.). However, if this fails, then the abbreviation must be unraveled to the full journal title (e.g. Lab on a Chip versus the abbreviation Lab Chip).

From the Vet Med Library home page

(1)  Type the journal title in the "Find Journals" search box

From the Library home page

(1)  Choose the "Classic" radio button
(2)  Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu
(3)  Type the journal title in the search box

A library catalog search will find up to 2 records for a single journal.

  • Online record => Provides link(s) and years available
  • Print record => Gives call number, location, and years available

Look carefully at each record to see what years are available.
     Pay special attention to years and location
     (e.g., RBD 4th floor, Vet Med, RBD Closed Stacks)

If the library does not have the journal for the year you need, then you can place an Interlibrary Loan request for the article.

Library home page --> Services --> Interlibrary Loan tab

Online Journals -- Tips & Tricks

Here are a few ways to access online journals, especially those to which Auburn University subscribes and open access journals.

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog as described in the left panel and open the record for the "electronic" journal.

Ebsco Find Full Text icon

Click on the icon, or link, for Ebsco Find Full Text in PubMED, MEDLINE, Web of Science, CAB, Agricola, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, SciFinder, SPORTDiscus, and Google Scholar. Ideally, it will take you to the full text of the article. To add Ebsco Find Full Text to your PubMed searches, see Linking to full text in PubMed.

Tips

When an online link fails, check the Library Catalog to see if we have the article in print or online.