It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many library databases will provide a complete citation for a source. You should always check these automatically generated citations against citation style guides to make sure they are correct and up-to-date. If a database does not provide a citation for you, the tools linked below will help you create a citation for your source.
Citation managers are a great way to organize your sources for different assignments. They can save article citations and abstracts and can sometimes pull information straight from a database at the click of a button!
Auburn University Libraries support three citation managers: Zotero, Mendeley, and Endnote. Each citation manager has its strengths and weaknesses, so check out the guides below to learn more about each and decide which one is right for your research!
by Rob Buchanan
Last Updated Sep 19, 2020
1707 views this year
The primary reason for citing information sources is to acknowledge and credit the work of others. If you consult books, other print resources, or electronic resources (e.g., web pages, journal articles retrieved from library databases, etc.), you should cite these sources in your bibliography or works cited page.
Auburn University takes plagiarism and academic honesty very seriously. If you are found plagiarizing you could fail your class, and there may be additional consequences at the University level.
This style guide walks students through how to create Chicago citations for most source types. It utilizes the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
Research and Documentation Online provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE (formerly called CBE) styles. Select "Documenting Sources" from the online menu in each subject area.
You may need to cite in discipline-specific styles as you enter your field of study. Below are a few online style guides for discipline-specific styles. If you don't see your style listed here, use the chat box on this page to ask a librarian how to cite in a discipline-specific style.
Now in its eighth edition, the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices.
The Manual begins with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
Learning how to read a citation can help you understand how to create your own citations! Watch the video below to learn how to read a citation for an entire book, a chapter or essay from a book, and a journal article.
If you're still unsure of how to avoid plagiarism, uphold the academic honesty code, or cite sources responsibly, please don't hesitate to contact us!