Building Science

Using Websites for Research

Websites are great sources of information - some of it good, some of it bad. The websites listed on the subpages of this guide should give you good information, but always be aware of the information you've gotten on the open web.

• Occupational Outlook Handbook - Architecture & Engineering Occupations

  List of careers relating to engineering with summaries including a job summary, entry level education and median pay. Each entry also links to the full Occupational Outlook Handbook entry.

• All About Careers

  Register for free and get articles, blog entries, application deadlines, and forum feed related to the career you are interested in.

• Institution of Engineering and Technology

  Get information on engineering in video or print form. There is also a section of free resources for teaching science, design and technology, engineering and math.

• Registry of Research Data Repositories

  Includes 233 engineering-related data repositories across 36 countries, ranging from higher education institutions to government entities.

• Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)

  Full-text access to technical reports from federally funded research incl, including the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) reports

• Sustainable Sources

  This site gives information on many types of sustainable/green building practices.

• American Institute of Steel Construction

  This site has information on certification in steel construction. It also has an ePub and free ePub collection of technical details. Some are available to members, and some are available to anyone.

• American Institute of Constructors

  This site has information on certification in construction management. The site also offers articles of interest to construction managers.

• Construction Project Management Handbook

  Designed for public transit projects, the handbook manages such a project from initial conception through completion.