Taxonomy - Breakout 1 - BIOL 1027: Honors Biology - Subject Guides at Auburn University

Animals

Same as above - these are great places to find background info and additional sources!

Animal Diversity Web The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others. It is a rich and flexible resource designed both as an encyclopedia for exploring biodiversity and for use in formal, inquiry-based education
FishBase Global database of fish species.
AmphibiaWeb Global database of amphibian species.
The Reptile Database Database of all living reptile species and their classification. Currently there are more than 10,000 species another 2,800 subspecies listed.
Smithsonian Museum Entomology Collection Approximately 450,000 records are currently available in this online catalog, including Genetic Samples, and the Primary Type, Specimen, and Species Inventories. Also available are the Illustration Archive records that include images and data about published scientific illustrations.
Smithsonian Museum Invertebrate Zoology Collection
Smithsonian Museum Amphibians & Reptiles Collection
Smithsonian Museum Bird Collection The Division of Birds, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains the third largest bird collection in the world with over 625,000 specimens. Our National Collection has representatives of about 80% of the approximately 9600 known species in the world's avifauna. The collection is comprised of specimens primarily prepared as study skins, skeletons, fluid preserved, eggs, nests, and mounted skins. We also hold nearly 4000 primary type specimens.
Smithsonian Museum Fish Collection
Smithsonian Museum Mammal Collection The Division of Mammals, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains the world's largest mammal collection with over 600,000 specimens. The taxonomic and geographic scope of the USNM (acronym derived from our former name United States National Museum) mammal collection spans the globe, with especially strong representation from North America, Central America, northern South America, Africa, and southeast Asia. The research value of this collection to mammalogists is evidenced by the 3500 primary type specimens preserved, a number exceeded only by The Natural History Museum, London.

Plants

Kew Plants of the World Online International collaborative program that digitized data of the world’s flora gathered from the past 250 years of botanical exploration and research.
USDA Plants Database Standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Native Plant Information Network Great place to find background information on and images of North American plants.
International Plant Names Index IPNI provides nomenclatural information (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) for the scientific names of Vascular Plants from Family down to infraspecific ranks. Includes links to protologues to online information in the Biodiversity Heritage Library and Plants of the World Online.
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History Department of Botany Over 4.2 million specimen records (including over 115,000 type specimens with images) are currently available in this online catalog.

Images

Filter by Creative Commons or Public Domain license:

Flickr (change from "any license" to "all creative commons")
Google Images (Tools -> Usage Rights")
Bing Images (Filter -> License)

Cell Picture Show

BIOL 1027: Honors Biology: Taxonomy - Breakout 1

Finding information about your species

Animals

Plants

Images