Cells & Cell Structure - Breakout 2 - BIOL 1027: Honors Biology

Powerpoint from Breakout Session #2

Cells & Cell Types Powerpoint
Includes information about copyright and citing images.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (tenth edition); the Britannica Book of the Year; and links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.

This is just a general list to get you started - NOT an exhaustive one!

Animals

Stem cells

Bone cells

Muscle cells

Skin cells

Nerve cells

Auditory cells

Plants

Vascular tissue cells: Tracheids. Vessel elements. Sieve tube cells. Companion cells.

Dermal tissue cells: Epidermal cells. Stomata or more accurately, guard cells. Trichomes.

Ground tissue cells: Parenchyma. Collenchyma. Sclerenchyma.

Filter by Creative Commons or Public Domain license:

Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology by Anthony P. Farrell (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080923239
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Ecological and Environmental Physiology of Fish by F. Brian Eddy; Richard D. Handy
ISBN: 9780199540945
Publication Date: 2012-07-05

Electronic

Insect Physiology and Biochemistry, Third Edition by James L. Nation
ISBN: 9781482247602
Publication Date: 2015-08-20

Ecological and Environmental Physiology of Insects by Jon F. Harrison; H. Arthur Woods; Stephen P. Roberts
ISBN: 9780199225958
Publication Date: 2012-03-24
Physiological Systems in Insects by Marc J. Klowden
ISBN: 0124162649
Publication Date: 2002-04-03

Electronic

Color in plants and flowers
ISBN: 20130727083935
Plant Physiology and Development by Lincoln Taiz; Eduardo Zeiger; Ian M. Møller; Angus Murphy
ISBN: 9781605352558
Publication Date: 2014-10-15