Auburn University Libraries
LibGuides
Are you a new graduate student at Auburn University? Do you need a refresher on library services available to you? Learn about online research help, document delivery, interlibrary loan services, and library spaces geared to scholarly research, collaboration, and productivity (including the Libraries’ new Innovation & Research Commons). Come with questions if you have them!
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop will focus on giving students tools to aid them in their academic journey. We will cover time management tools, managing priorities, and reading comprehension techniques targeted toward scientific reading.
Offered by Academic Coaching. The facilitator will be Jessica Reaves.
Time: 60 minutes
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use and open access citation management tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you'll learn how to download Zotero, register for an account, import and organize your sources, use the built-in PDF editor, and create a formatted bibliography. We'll also practice using the Write and Cite feature that allows you to easily add citations and bibliographies from Zotero to Microsoft Word and Google Docs.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Discover advanced techniques for Google Scholar, a search engine targeted toward scholarly resources. Participants will learn how to set up preferences, search alerts, and personal libraries in Google Scholar, helping them leverage this essential research tool.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop is for graduate students who are starting work on a proposal or literature review for their thesis or dissertation. The session will focus on general research strategies and library resources for identifying and locating scholarly sources in your field. During the workshop, we will compare the Libraries' Discovery service vs. subject databases and will focus on how to track down sources, using resources such as scholarly reviews, Dissertations and Theses Global and Web of Science. Time will be allotted for hands-on researching of your topic.
Time: 90 minutes
Do you need to complete a systematic or scoping review, but aren’t sure how to begin? This workshop examines the explicit steps that scholars take to complete an evidence synthesis project. In addition, you’ll learn about differences in review types, and where to find additional resources and services to help with the evidence synthesis process.
*Systematic and scoping reviews are not just literature reviews done systematically, instead they are formal research studies that seek to first identify, through a systematic and comprehensive search, all relevant literature answering a research question, then analyze, synthesize, and present data from all studies included in the review.
Time: 90 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis: An Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
Discover advanced techniques for Google Scholar, a search engine targeted toward scholarly resources. Participants will learn how to set up preferences, search alerts, and personal libraries in Google Scholar, helping them leverage this essential research tool.
Time: 60 minutes
Boolean operators are helpful for conducting efficient and focused research. This workshop provides an explanation of Boolean operators and a demonstration of how to employ them when using library databases and other resources for conducting research.
Time: 30 minutes
With a literature review for a thesis and dissertation in mind, this session will introduce the standard scholarly databases that cover scientific research studies in agriculture and biology. We will demonstrate keyword searching in CAB Abstracts, and Web of Science for locating research journal articles and reports. We will also briefly cover searching of Dissertations and Theses Global. We will dedicate some time to researching of your individual topic.
Skills, students will be able to:
- identify the databases that are important for their field and research topic
- develop most efficient methods for searching databases and locate relevant literature
-save articles and searches, set up search alerts, and export articles
- navigate the library website, databases, catalogs to locate information and services, such as Inter-Library Loan (ILL) and AUBIExpress Document Delivery
Time: 60 minutes
This interactive workshop will introduce you to basic operations in two chemistry databases: SciFinder and Reaxys. Chemistry, chemical & biomedical engineering, pharmacy, veterinary medicine, biochemistry, nursing, agriculture, forestry, and other health sciences graduate students are welcome to enroll. No previous experience in using these databases is required.
**NOTE: It is neccessary to create a SciFinder account before class and you must have the AU VPN downloaded to use SciFinder off-campus. Before the workshop, visit this page, https://libguides.auburn.edu/scifinderweb, to create your SciFinder account and download the VPN
Time: 60 minutes
The U.S. Census Bureau provides a wealth of demographic, social, economic and housing data. In this introduction to Census data, participants will:
• Learn to access Census and American Community Survey demographic data
• Learn to access statistics on businesses in specific industries
• Learn to navigate online tools at census.gov
• Download tables and create map visualizations from data.census.gov.
Time: 60 minutes
Graduate level research sometimes includes the need to identify and locate legal information. This workshop provides a basic overview in using the Westlaw database to locate state and federal laws and state and federal court opinions including those of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Time: 60 minutes
Learn about Web of Science with Research Assistant and Scopus with Scopus AI. Both marry AI tools to high quality Indexes of research literature.
Time: 60 minutes
AI can make your research more efficient, but it's important to use it mindfully. This workshop will guide you through some potential applications of Microsoft Copilot as a research tool. We will also discuss the responsible use of AI in research, so you are encouraged to come with questions.
Time: 60 minutes
Scientific data often requires preparation before it is ready for analysis. Learn about file naming conventions, file formats, data typing, import and export functions, version control, building a reproducible workflow, and best practices for collaboration. Specific attention will be given to best practices in moving data between computers, programs, and formats..
Time: 60 minutes
Do you need to complete a systematic or scoping review, but aren’t sure how to begin? This workshop examines the explicit steps that scholars take to complete an evidence synthesis project. In addition, you’ll learn about differences in review types, and where to find additional resources and services to help with the evidence synthesis process.
*Systematic and scoping reviews are not just literature reviews done systematically, instead they are formal research studies that seek to first identify, through a systematic and comprehensive search, all relevant literature answering a research question, then analyze, synthesize, and present data from all studies included in the review.
Time: 90 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis : An Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use and open access citation management tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you'll learn how to download Zotero, register for an account, import and organize your sources, use the built-in PDF editor, and create a formatted bibliography. We'll also practice using the Write and Cite feature that allows you to easily add citations and bibliographies from Zotero to Microsoft Word and Google Docs.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
This workshop will focus on giving students tools to aid them in their academic journey. We will cover time management tools, managing priorities, and reading comprehension techniques targeted toward scientific reading.
Offered by Academic Coaching. The facilitator will be Jessica Reaves.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop aims to impart techniques and strategies for proficiently comprehending and composing literature reviews. Participants will be instructed on effectively organizing their thoughts and producing articulate, precise, and captivating literature reviews while grasping the significance of narrative structure and employing appropriate transition words and phrases. Additionally, participants will have the opportunity to increase their confidence in crafting literature reviews through practical exercises involving the analysis of the structure found in a sample scholarly article.
This workshop is offered by University Writing. The facilitator will be Souji Gopalakrishna Pillai.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop is for graduate students who are starting work on a proposal or literature review for their thesis or dissertation. The session will focus on general research strategies and library resources for identifying and locating scholarly sources in your field. During the workshop, we will compare the Libraries' Discovery service vs. subject databases and will focus on how to track down sources, using resources such as scholarly reviews, Dissertations and Theses Global and Web of Science. Time will be allotted for hands-on researching of your topic.
Time: 90 minutes
Do you need to complete a systematic or scoping review, but aren’t sure how to begin? This workshop examines the explicit steps that scholars take to complete an evidence synthesis project. In addition, you’ll learn about differences in review types, and where to find additional resources and services to help with the evidence synthesis process.
*Systematic and scoping reviews are not just literature reviews done systematically, instead they are formal research studies that seek to first identify, through a systematic and comprehensive search, all relevant literature answering a research question, then analyze, synthesize, and present data from all studies included in the review.
Time: 90 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis : An Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use and open access citation management tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you'll learn how to download Zotero, register for an account, import and organize your sources, use the built-in PDF editor, and create a formatted bibliography. We'll also practice using the Write and Cite feature that allows you to easily add citations and bibliographies from Zotero to Microsoft Word and Google Docs.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Learn to manage references and bibliographies, add images, and create tables in your LaTeX** document. Prerequisite: Introduction to LaTeX workshop or basic working knowledge of LaTeX.
This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes
So you’ve done all the research and now it’s time to publish. There are many factors to consider when deciding where to submit an article for publication. Audience, prestige, and accessibility are just a few. In this workshop, we will offer tips for identifying the right journal for you.
Time: 30 minutes
The term open access (OA) refers to free, immediate, digital access to the results of scholarly research. By making scholarly information freely available around the world, OA has the power to transform academia, medicine, industry, and society as a whole. As an individual researcher, you can make your own work more visible and impactful through open access. In this workshop, you will learn about the benefits of OA, the different routes for making your work open, and how you can use it to boost your scholarly profile (along with a few other tips).
Time: 30 minutes
Need to design graphics or a poster for a class assignment, research presentation, or a conference presentation? Sign up for your free Adobe ID at least 1 day before the session at http://adobe.auburn.edu. Begin with the drag and drop features of Adobe Express to design and print or submit a poster or to design a graphic; basic design tips included. Learn tips for presenting in-person and online. Explore ways to get started with more advanced poster design using Adobe InDesign and interactive apps.
NOTE: This workshop has a registration minimum. If the minimum is not met, you will be notified so that you can register for another session. Additional Innovation & Research Commons workshop video sessions are available for on-demand viewing at: https://aub.ie/ircinstruction.
Time: 60 minutes
Presenting research is a vital part of the information cycle in research. This workshop will cover tips and tricks for giving clear, engaging presentations, so that you can share your discoveries with others effectively. It will also include an opportunity to practice in a group with a tool you can use to enhance your presentations and increase audience interactivity.
Time: 60 minutes
Learn some of the basic functions of LaTeX** in order to create technical and scientific documents using mathematical expressions. In this workshop, you will learn to set up a basic document in LaTeX and learn basic commands for equations and mathematical expressions. This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes
Learn to manage references and bibliographies, add images, and create tables in your LaTeX** document. Prerequisite: Introduction to LaTeX workshop or basic working knowledge of LaTeX.
This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes