Auburn University Libraries
LibGuides
Are you a new graduate student at Auburn University? Do you need a refresher on library services available to you? Learn about online research help, document delivery, interlibrary loan services, and library spaces geared to scholarly research, collaboration, and productivity (including the Libraries’ new Innovation & Research Commons). Come with questions if you have them!
Time: 60 minutes
The workshop will teach students how to balance both life and academic responsibilities through effective time management and creating a reasonable schedule that works for them.
Offered by Academic Coaching. The facilitators will be Tracy Parsons and Hannah Bamigbola.
Time: 60 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool to collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Discover advanced techniques for Google Scholar, a search engine targeted toward scholarly resources. Participants will learn how to set up preferences, search alerts, and personal libraries in Google Scholar, helping them leverage this essential research tool.
Time: 60 minutes
In this 60 minute workshop you will learn how to identify critical pieces of scholarly articles, how to read scholarly articles, and the best practices for reading/critically evaluating and integrating scholarly articles into your research. We will also go over databases and annotation tools that may help you when reading/evaluating scholarly articles online.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop is for graduate students who are starting work on a proposal or literature review for their thesis or dissertation. The session will focus on general research strategies and library resources for identifying and locating scholarly sources in your field. During the workshop, we will compare the Libraries' Discovery service vs. subject databases and will focus on how to track down sources, using resources such as scholarly reviews, Dissertations and Theses Global and Web of Science. Time will be allotted for hands-on researching of your topic.
Time: 90 minutes
Do you need to complete an evidence synthesis, but aren’t sure how to begin? This workshop examines the explicit steps that scholars take to complete a systematic or scoping review*. In addition, you’ll learn about differences in review types, and where to find additional resources and services to help with the evidence synthesis process.
*Systematic and scoping reviews are not just literature reviews done systematically, instead they are formal research studies that seek to first identify, through a systematic and comprehensive search, all relevant literature answering a research question, then analyze, synthesize, and present data from all studies included in the review.
Time: 60 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis - Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
Discover advanced techniques for Google Scholar, a search engine targeted toward scholarly resources. Participants will learn how to set up preferences, search alerts, and personal libraries in Google Scholar, helping them leverage this essential research tool.
Time: 60 minutes
Boolean operators are helpful for conducting efficient and focused research. This workshop provides an explanation of Boolean operators and a demonstration of how to employ them when using library databases and other resources for conducting research.
Time: 30 minutes
With a literature review for a thesis and dissertation in mind, this session will introduce the standard scholarly databases that cover scientific research studies in agriculture and biology. We will demonstrate keyword searching in CAB Abstracts, and Web of Science for locating research journal articles and reports. We will also briefly cover searching of Dissertations and Theses Global. We will dedicate some time to researching of your individual topic.
Skills, students will be able to:
- identify the databases that are important for their field and research topic
- develop most efficient methods for searching databases and locate relevant literature
-save articles and searches, set up search alerts, and export articles
- navigate the library website, databases, catalogs to locate information and services, such as Inter-Library Loan (ILL) and AUBIExpress Document Delivery
Time: 60 minutes
This session is open to STEM graduate students needing chemical information. We will explore two databases, SciFinder and Reaxys, and discuss the different types of information that you can find in each database. This interactive class will require that you bring your laptop. We will also explore ACS citation resources for journal articles.
Time: 60 minutes
NVivo is a software package used for qualitative research projects. In this session, you will learn how to set up and work with projects, data files, and memos.
NOTE: Due to a limited number of licenses, the session will be capped at 8 individuals.
Time: 60 minutes
NVivo is a software package used for qualitative research projects. In this session, you will learn how to begin working with qualitative codes.
NOTE: Due to a limited number of licenses, the session will be capped at 8 individuals.
Time: 60 minutes
Graduate level research sometimes includes the need to identify and locate legal information. This workshop provides a basic overview in using the Westlaw database to locate state and federal laws and state and federal court opinions including those of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Time: 60 minutes
Scopus and Web of Science have enabled AI technology with their databases. The AI technology provides a limited set of well-chosen results relevant to a search. These AI technologies enable finding results, in contrast to the main databases which enable traditional searching. This session will look at when and why you would use the AI assistant and when/why you would use the conventional search.
Time: 60 minutes
Generative AI can help you find information more efficiently, but it's important to be mindful of its limitations. This workshop provides an overview of responsible use of AI in a research context and an opportunity for hands-on practice with some of the GenAI tools you may already use. We will also discuss appropriate use of AI in specific scenarios, so you are encouraged to come with questions and examples of your own experiences with GenAI.
Time: 60 minutes
In this workshop you will learn how to effectively use the AU Libraries Remote Computer Lab. This session is designed for students, faculty, and staff who want to access and utilize remote lab resources from their own devices. You'll be guided through the process of accessing the Remote Lab, navigating its interface, and using the available software. The workshop will also cover tips for a better user experience, troubleshooting common issues, and saving and accessing files on the remote machine using Box, OneDrive, and Teams. Additionally, you'll explore advanced features such as using flash drives and microphones with the remote machine. The session includes hands-on practice and a Q&A segment to address any queries or concerns. By the end of the workshop, you'll have the skills and knowledge to make the most of the Remote Lab resources.
Time: 75 minutes
Join us for a look into the learning tools available to you in virtual reality, here at the Innovation & Research Commons (I&RC) VR Space. The session will feature popular applications such as Gravity Sketch, Nanome, Noun Town, and more! We will go in depth on how these applications can assist you in learning or teaching as well. New VR users welcome and encouraged to join.
Time: 30 Minutes
This workshop is aimed at graduate students who have a basic understanding of Excel and want to enhance their skills by exploring PivotTables, data validation, and conditional formatting. By the end of the workshop, participants will be able to use these advanced features to analyze and present data more effectively.
Time: 60 minutes
Scientific data often requires preparation before it is ready for analysis. Learn about file naming conventions, file formats, data typing, import and export functions, version control, building a reproducible workflow, and best practices for collaboration. Specific attention will be given to best practices in moving data between computers, programs, and formats..
Time: 60 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis : An Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
NVivo is a software package used for qualitative research projects. In this session, you will learn how to set up and work with projects, data files, and memos.
NOTE: Due to a limited number of licenses, the session will be capped at 8 individuals.
Time: 60 Minutes
NVivo is a software package used for qualitative research projects. In this session, you will learn how to begin working with qualitative codes.
NOTE: Due to a limited number of licenses, the session will be capped at 8 individuals.
Time: 60 Minutes
Do you need software that will help you make data visualizations for your research? Come to Introduction to Tableau for a tour of the basics for this industry-standard software for data analytics. We’ll work together to make a first visualization to learn the ropes of importing data, selecting the right type of chart, and designing an effective visualization.
Time: 75 Minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool to collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
The workshop will teach students how to balance both life and academic responsibilities through effective time management and creating a reasonable schedule that works for them.
Offered by Academic Coaching. The facilitators will be Tracy Parsons and Hannah Bamigbola.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop aims to impart techniques and strategies for proficiently comprehending and composing literature reviews. Participants will be instructed on effectively organizing their thoughts and producing articulate, precise, and captivating literature reviews while grasping the significance of narrative structure and employing appropriate transition words and phrases. Additionally, participants will have the opportunity to increase their confidence in crafting literature reviews through practical exercises involving the analysis of the structure found in a sample scholarly article.
This workshop is offered by University Writing. The facilitator will be Souji Gopalakrishna Pillai.
Time: 60 minutes
This workshop is for graduate students who are starting work on a proposal or literature review for their thesis or dissertation. The session will focus on general research strategies and library resources for identifying and locating scholarly sources in your field. During the workshop, we will compare the Libraries' Discovery service vs. subject databases and will focus on how to track down sources, using resources such as scholarly reviews, Dissertations and Theses Global and Web of Science. Time will be allotted for hands-on researching of your topic.
Time: 90 minutes
Do you need to complete a systematic or scoping review, but aren’t sure how to begin? This workshop examines the explicit steps that scholars take to complete an evidence synthesis project. In addition, you’ll learn about differences in review types, and where to find additional resources and services to help with the evidence synthesis process.
*Systematic and scoping reviews are not just literature reviews done systematically, instead they are formal research studies that seek to first identify, through a systematic and comprehensive search, all relevant literature answering a research question, then analyze, synthesize, and present data from all studies included in the review.
Time: 90 minutes
Covidence is software which can help streamline the screening and data extraction tasks of an evidence synthesis project such as a systematic or scoping review or a meta-analysis. This workshop will cover setting up a Covidence account, creating a review, importing sources, screening at both title/abstract and full text, and creating a data extraction template.
Prerequisite: It is recommended that you have previously taken the Intro to Systematic Reviews or Evidence Synthesis : An Overview workshop or have previous experience with completing an evidence synthesis project.
Time: 60 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool that will help you collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Auburn staff, faculty and students have access to EndNote, a citation management tool to collect, cite, and share your research sources. In this workshop, you will learn how to download and register for an EndNote account, import and organize sources, create a formatted bibliography, and use the Cite While You Write feature with Microsoft Word.
Prior to this workshop, please visit AU Install to download and install EndNote X21 on your computer.
Time: 75 minutes
Learn to manage references and bibliographies, add images, and create tables in your LaTeX** document. Prerequisite: Introduction to LaTeX workshop or basic working knowledge of LaTeX.
This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes
The term open access (OA) refers to free, immediate, digital access to the results of scholarly research. By making scholarly information freely available around the world, OA has the power to transform academia, medicine, industry, and society as a whole. As an individual researcher, you can make your own work more visible and impactful through open access. Join us to learn about the benefits of OA, ways that open access publishing can boost your scholarly profile, and the different options for making your work open and discoverable (including green and gold open access publishing, institutional repositories, and ORCID).
Time: 30 minutes
Explore Adobe Express, a web-based app that allows everyone to create beautiful graphics, web stories, generative AI art, and video. Practice searching Adobe Stock: free, high-resolution images for use in your projects. We will review sample academic/ scientific explainer/ research videos and discuss key qualities. Explore Adobe Premiere Rush for video creation and editing.
Use a computer with Rush installed to join in (provided in-person; see OIT help documentation for assistance with installing on your own laptop as needed). Access Adobe’s free resources that will empower you to use more powerful apps such as Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator, and Premiere Pro.
NOTE: Free Adobe ID required for best experience and full participation in this session; sign up for your Adobe ID at least 24 hours before the session, available to students at adobe.auburn.edu.
NOTE: This workshop has a registration minimum. If the minimum is not met, you will be notified so that you can register for another session. Additional Innovation & Research Commons workshop video sessions are available for on-demand viewing at: https://aub.ie/ircinstruction.
Time: 60 minutes
Presenting research is a vital part of the information cycle in research. This workshop will cover tips and tricks for giving clear, engaging presentations, so that you can share your discoveries with others effectively. It will also include an overview of a few software tools you can use to enhance your presentations and increase audience interactivity, and a chance to experiment with one during the session.
Time: 60 minutes
Do you need software that will help you make data visualizations for your research? Come to Introduction to Tableau for a tour of the basics for this industry-standard software for data analytics. We’ll work together to make a first visualization to learn the ropes of importing data, selecting the right type of chart, and designing an effective visualization.
Time: 75 Minutes
Learn some of the basic functions of LaTeX** in order to create technical and scientific documents using mathematical expressions. In this workshop, you will learn to set up a basic document in LaTeX and learn basic commands for equations and mathematical expressions. This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes
Learn to manage references and bibliographies, add images, and create tables in your LaTeX** document. Prerequisite: Introduction to LaTeX workshop or basic working knowledge of LaTeX.
This workshop works best with a laptop or desktop screen.
**LaTeX is a document preparation system used for the production of scientific and technical publications. Examples of the types of documents that you can create with LaTeX include articles, presentations, lab reports, and other homework assignments.
Time: 60 minutes