Subject Guides: Civil Engineering: Home

Engineering & Physics Librarian

Andrew Wohrley

Email Me

Subjects: Engineering, Physics

Subject Indexes

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present. (3 simultaneous users)

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
(Journal only Full-text) ASCE is the world's largest publisher of civil engineering information. Includes a searchable database and access to individual journal titles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It also includes news, author's guides, etc.

Construction, Design, Research, Planning
Papers published by the National Academy of Sciences on the topic.
OnePetro
Online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry with contributions from 21 publishing partners and operated by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

General Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is a reference and teaching platform that comprehensively covers all of engineering with books, textbooks, code commentary, standards handbooks, and other materials. One can search for topics, or browse by subject, or industry or course. Most of these books were published by McGraw-Hill.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes the full text of most U. S. dissertations and master's thesis from 1995 forward. The database also includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

National Academy Press
Publisher for the National Academy of Sciences policy papers.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
Global list of Open Access Repositories
Directory of Open Access Repositories
Global list of Open Access Repositories searchable by name of repository and browseable by geography.
EThOS: e-theses online service
Searchable database of recent UK dissertations.
DART-Europe E-these Portal
Provides a single point for searching recent European theses and dissertations.
Cite Seer X
A database for organizing current computer science research.
WorldWideScience.org: The Global Science Gateway
"A global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals." Provides documents and citations from scientific repositories around the world.
OSTI.gov
OSTI.gov is a portal to free, publicly available DOE research and development (R&D) results.
SHARE
Indexes online Open Access and copyright free information with DOI links to full-text.
TechRxiv preprint server
A new engineering preprint server.
AccessEngineering
McGraw-Hill titles in engineering consisting of textbooks, handbooks, workbooks with sample problems, and other books useful for engineering undergraduates.
SAE MobilityRxiv
Pre-prints for papers submitted to SAE
Global ETD Search
Unified search interface to online Electronic Theses and Dissertations around the world.

Reference Tools

Journals

Selected Civil Engineering Journals at AU Libraries [These are selected titles that we are currently subscribing to in paper format in the library; call numbers are included.] Selected Electronic Civil Engineering Journals.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

Associations and Societies

American Society of Civil Engineers
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
American Water Works Association
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute
Web Sites
3 Part Specs for Building Materials by McGraw-Hill Sweets
Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
Wolfram|Alpha
Auburn University Department and Course Pages
Civil Engineering
Auburn University Transportation Research Institute
Detail of the research performed by AUTRI including the National Center for Asphalt Technology, and GPS and Vehicle Dynamics Research

Research Grants Opportunities

Grants.gov
Central site for posting and applying for American research grants.