Comprehensive Geographic Information System by
Geographical Information Systems is a computer system used to capture, store, analyze and display information related to positions on the Earth's surface. It has the ability to show multiple types of information on multiple geographical locations in a single map, enabling users to assess patterns and relationships between different information points, a crucial component for multiple aspects of modern life and industry. This 3-volumes reference provides an up-to date account of this growing discipline through in-depth reviews authored by leading experts in the field. VOLUME EDITORS Thomas J. Cova The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, United States Ming-Hsiang Tsou San Diego State University, San Diego, CA, United States Georg Bareth University of Cologne, Cologne, Germany Chunqiao Song University of California, Los Angeles, CA, United States Yan Song University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, United States Kai Cao National University of Singapore, Singapore Elisabete A. Silva University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom Covers a rapidly expanding discipline, providing readers with a detailed overview of all aspects of geographic information systems, principles and applications Emphasizes the practical, socioeconomic applications of GIS Provides readers with a reliable, one-stop comprehensive guide, saving them time in searching for the information they need from different sources
The Sedimentary Basins of the United States and Canada by
The Sedimentary Basins of the United States and Canada, Second Edition, focuses on the large, regional, sedimentary accumulations in Canada and the United States. Each chapter provides a succinct summary of the tectonic setting and structural and paleogeographic evolution of the basin it covers, with details on structure and stratigraphy. The book features four new chapters that cover the sedimentary basins of Alaska and the Canadian Arctic. In addition to sedimentary geologists, this updated reference is relevant for basin analysis, regional geology, stratigraphy, and for those working in the hydrocarbon exploration industry. Features updates to existing chapters, along with new chapters on sedimentary basins in Alaska and Arctic Canada Includes nearly 300 detailed, full-color paleogeographic maps Written for general geological audiences and individuals working in the resources sector, particularly those in the fossil fuel industry
Remotely Sensed Data Characterization, Classification, and Accuracies by
A volume in the Remote Sensing Handbook series, Remotely Sensed Data Characterization, Classification, and Accuracies documents the scientific and methodological advances that have taken place during the last 50 years. The other two volumes in the series are Land Resources Monitoring, Modeling, and Mapping with Remote Sensing, and Remote Sensing of
All of the featured books, and many others, are available electronically. If you need help accessing and using ebooks provided through RBD Library, the usage guide linked above provides instructions. Live help is available via chat during business hours. Most ebooks can be downloaded and read on devices like your personal computer, tablet, or e-reader. A few ebooks require you to be logged in through a browser and may limit the number of simultaneous readers.
The best way to start a general search is with Discovery, AU Libraries' one-stop shop for scholarly resources. Discovery is something like Google for the library and will return a wide variety of sources for you to use, including books and ebooks, journal articles, news and magazine articles, and more.
Need help with Discovery? There's a guide for that:
This video, "A Brief History of Geologic Time", summarizes Earth's development into the world we know today in under fifteen minutes. Credit: PBS Eons.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
