Subject Guides: Industrial Design: Articles

Generate Keywords for Searching

Take a moment to think about your topic.

Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions.

Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).

Think of words and phrases to use in a search of information regarding your topic.

If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information.

Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.

Locating Articles on Industrial Design topics

A&Ae Portal This link opens in a new window The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, photography, and design. Innovative functionality and extensive metadata offer students and scholars exciting ways to discover and engage with content from Yale University Press and other leading university presses and museum publishers.
Architecture Design & Practice Online (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window Over 200 titles and 15,000 images focused on studio design and professional practice; this resource is fully cross-searchable with the Bloomsbury Architecture Library.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Avery Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window Database that includes reference works, over 100 e-books, subject guides, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, designer pages, and over 3,000 object images primarily focused on design, crafts, and the visual arts.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present.
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Ergonomics Abstracts is an abstracting service spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. In addition to abstracting mainstream ergonomics resources, Ergonomics Abstracts is also a good source of information for the fields of biomechanics, human engineering, human-computer interaction, job design, medicine, occupational health, physiology, psychology, safety science, sports and transportation.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Health & General Science Collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines.