Subject Guides: Industrial Design: Design History

Design History Information

Core77 Industrial Design Magazine + Resource

Biographies in the Design Files category
Core77 Designing Women

Series documenting the "careers of lesser-known and underappreciated female designers of the 20th century."
IDSA

Industrial Designers Society of America
Industrial Design History

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Avery Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window This collection traces the progress of American History and extensively covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the visual arts with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, art collections around the world, timelines of world art, and images. Available through this site are Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online. 3 Simultaneous Users

New York Times (1980-Current)

Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through LexisNexis Academic.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865

HarpWeek lets you directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th-century illustrated newspaper.
Historic American Newspapers

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window

Online indexing of the Times (London) from 1790-1980 and the New York times from 1851-1923. Indexes can be searched individually or in combination by names, events, and subjects with Boolean, proximity, wildcard, and truncation search operators. Also includes the full text of Times (London) articles from 1785 to 1870.