Subject Guides: Industrial Design: Citation Resouces

APA 7 Edition Resources

APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner. When style works best, ideas flow logically, sources are credited appropriately, and papers are organized predictably. People are described using language that affirms their worth and dignity. Authors plan for ethical compliance and report critical details of their research protocol to allow readers to evaluate findings and other researchers to potentially replicate the studies. Tables and figures present information in an engaging, readable manner.

Resource Information can be found here: APA 7 Style Information

In-Text Citations Links:

Mechanics of Style Links:

Tables and Figures Links:

Paper Format Links:

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

General Resource:

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Includes Citation Quick Guides and Paper-Formatting Tip Sheets

Book Citation Elements:

Author(s)' and Editor(s)' Names
Book Title
Publisher name and location
Publication Date (Year only)

Bibliography Template:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Notes Template:

First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Journal Article Citation Elements:

Author (if given)
Article Title
Journal Title
Volume number (list number only)
Issue number (list as no.#)
Publication Date (Month Year OR Year only)
Include page numbers of article

Bibliography Template:

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title. Volume #, Issue no. (Month Year): page numbers.

Notes Template:

First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): page number(s).

Image Figure Caption Template:

Figure 1: Creator, Title and/or description, Date, Location. (Citation for image source) Image Credit: Photographer/Source/Rights Holder.

Creator (Typically the architect(s) or firm of the built work, if known)
Title (Name of built work or a description. Optionally, you can include both, by naming the building and describing what view the image gives of the build work.)
Date (Typically completion date of the built work. If not indicate [begun, consecrated, demolished, etc.] before the date)
Location (if known)
Citation for the source of image (where you found the image)
- Website: article author, article title, website name, date posted (all if known)
- Image Database: Database name
- Journal Article: article author, article title, volume, issue, date, page number
- Book: book author, book title, publication city, publisher, date, page number
Image credit (Photographer, Source, Rights holder, optional to include the date of the photograph/image if known)

Harvard Style of Referencing

General Information:

Basic information you need to collect from sources:

Author(s)/editor(s)
Date of publication
Title
Edition (1st, 2nd, reprint ed. revised ed. etc.)
Page numbers (when applicable)
Place of publication / Publisher (for books)
Journal Title, Volume and issue numbers (for journal articles)
Web address or Database name and Date Accessed (if online)

Book – One Author

Koolhaas, R., 1994. Delirious New York. New York: Monacelli Press.

Book – Multiple Authors

Davis, J. T. and Watkins, J. C., 2001. Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt.

Article Citation (Journal – Print)

Jacobs, K., 2014. 'Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal.' Architect (Washington, D.C.), 103 (1), p. 28.

Article Citation (E-Journal)

Howard, D., 2003. 'Venice between east and west: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.' Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, [e-journal] 62(3). pp.306-325. Available at: <https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517> [Accessed 12 July 2018].

Image in a Print Book

Figure Caption:

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein, 1972-82, Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach. Source: Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Flectcher's a history of architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths, fig.1355A.

Figure Caption

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein's Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach (1972-82). Source: (Musgrove, 1987, 1355A).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Flectcher's a history of architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths.

Image in a Print Journal

Figure Caption:

Fig. 2. Mansilla+Tuñón, 2007, Longitudinal section, Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria. Source: Mansilla+Tuñón. 2008 'Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria,' GA Document, 103, p.62.

Figure Caption

Fig. 2. Mansilla+Tuñón, 2007, Longitudinal section, Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria. Source:(Mansilla+Tuñón, 2008, 62).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Mansilla+Tuñón. 2008 'Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria,' GA Document, 103.

Image in a Database Journal Article

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3 Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. Source: Moon, K.S., 2009. 'Tall building motion control using double skin facades.' Journal of Architectural Engineering, [e-journal] 15(3), p.85. Available through: Academic Search Premier.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. Source: (Moon, 2009, 85)

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Moon, K.S., 2009. 'Tall building motion control using double skin facades.' Journal of Architectural Engineering, [e-journal] 15(3). Available through: Academic Search Premier.

Image from ARTSTOR

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4 Adolf Loos, 1928. Josephine Baker House. Source: Loos, A. 1928. Josephine Baker House [architectural drawing], Paris, France (Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections). Available through: ARTstor. <library.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410> [Accessed 5 February 2018].

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4. Adolf Loos, 1928. Josephine Baker House. Source: (Loos, 1928).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Loos, A. 1928. Josephine Baker House [architectural drawing], Paris, France. (Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections). Available through: ARTstor, < [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

Image from a Website

Works Cited Page:

Fig. 6 Atelierdacosta, 2015, Interior hallway of dental clinic, Canidelo, Portugal (Photographer: Tiago Casanova). Available at: 'Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta.' ArchDaily Projects [blog], 10 October. <www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

Figure Caption:

Fig. 6. Atelierdacosta, 2015, Interior hallway of dental clinic, Canidelo, Portugal (Dental Clinic, 2015).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

'Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta.' ArchDaily Projects[blog], 10 October. Available at: <www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

Standard

Organization Name/Corporate author., Year. Identifying letters and numbers and full title of standard. [online] Place of Publication: Publisher. Available at: [Accessed date].

Example:

International Code Council, 2017. [BS] 501.3.4 Expected loads [online] Country Club Hills, IL: International Code Council Available at: MADCAD [Accessed 21 June 2018].

Online Map

Map publisher (origin), Year of issue. Title of map. Map Series, sheet number, scale. Source [online] Available at: <> [Accessed date].

Figure Caption and Bibliographic entry for map reproduced in a source:

Fig. 7 Central Europe in the Renaissance period. Source: (Musgrove, 1987, p.977).

Bibliographic Entry:

Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Fletcher's a history of architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths.

Newspaper

Geczi, M..1983. "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas." Dallas Morning News, 26 Oct. p.D1.

Webpage

The American Institute of Architects, 2018. Innovation awards. [online] Available at: <https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program> [Accessed 29 June 2018].

Blog

Michael Maltazan Architecture, 2018. Crest apartments. ArchDaily Projects, [blog] 28 June. Available at <https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture> [Accessed 29 June 2018].

Film or Video Recording

My architect, 2004. [DVD]. New York: New Yorker Video.

MLA 8th Edition

Basic MLA elements, omit any information that is not provided or not necessary:

1. Author. (If there is no author, do not use Anonymous or Unknown. Just start your citation with the title.)

2. Title of source.

Container 1:

3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,
9. Location.

Container 2:

3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,
9. Location.

Additional information you may want to include:

Previous Publications: If the image was previously published in other form, you should reference that by adding it as a container preceded by the phrase "Originally published in".

Dates of Access: Online works can be edited or deleted without notice, so including the date you accessed it online can be helpful. Add "Accessed [date of access]." to the end of you citation. Example: Accessed 12 Jan. 2018.

Multiple elements for a single entry: If there is more than one piece of information to go in a single entry area, use a forward slash to separate the multiple elements. Example: [Publisher 1]/[Publisher 2]

Book – One Author

Koolhaas, Rem. Delirious New York. Monacelli Press, 1994.

Book – Multiple Authors

Davis, James T. and James C. Watkins. Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects. Kendall/Hunt, 2001.

Article Citation (Journal – Print)

Jacobs, Karrie. “Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal.” Architect (Washington, D.C.), vol. 103, no. 1, 2014, pp. 28.

Article Citation (E-Journal)

Online only

Howard, Deborah. “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, vol. 62, no. 3, 2003, https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517. Accessed 12 July 2018.

Phillips, Brian and Deb Katz. “Designing for Impact: Tools for Reducing Disparities in Health.” Architectural Design, vol. 88, no. 4, 2018, https://doi-org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/10.1002/ad.2321. Accessed 16 July 2018.

Cohen, Nancy Eve. “When Hurricane Harvey Hit, the Texas Medical Center Stood Ready.” The BuildingGreen Report, vol. 27, no. 6, 2018. https://www-buildinggreen-com.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/sites/default/files/ebn/TBGR_27-06.pdf. Accessed 16 July 2018.

Print and Online

Howard, Deborah. “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, vol. 62, no. 3, 2003, pp. 306-325, https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517. Accessed 12 July 2018.

MLA Image Basics

Source = Image

Container(s) = where you found the image

Images may have multiple layers of containers (think about an image contained in a journal article inside a database).

Images can be embedded into papers, slideshow presentations or posters.

In text, refer to the image with figure or fig. NOT capitalized and the Arabic numeral. Example: The plan of the Viipuri Library (fig.1)...
The images themselves should be labeled Figure or Fig capitalized with the Arabic numeral (Fig. 1.) followed by the source information for the images
If you provide this source information with your images, you do not need to include it in the Works Cited page.
Citations for Figures differ from Works Cited page citations as the author/artist/architect is listed in First Name Last Name order and commas are used except for semicolons between containers.

Image in a Print Book

Works Cited Page:

Hollein, Hans. Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach. 1972-82. Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., Edited by John Musgrove, Butterworths, 1987, p. 1355A.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein, Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach, 1972-82; Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., Edited by John Musgrove, Butterworths, 1987, p. 1355A.

Image in a Print Journal

Works Cited Page:

Longitudinal section. 2007?, Soria, Spain. "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document, 103, 2008, p. 62.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 2. Longitudinal section. 2007?, Soria, Spain; "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document, 103, 2008, p. 62.

Image in a Database Journal Article

Works Cited Page:

Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," by Kyong Sun Moon, Journal of Architectural Engineering, vol.15, no. 3, 2009. p. 85. Academic Search Premier. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)1076-0431(2009)15:3(84).

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism; "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," by Kyong Sun Moon, Journal of Architectural Engineering, vol.15, no. 3, 2009. p. 85; Academic Search Premier. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)1076-0431(2009)15:3(84).

Image from ARTSTOR

Works Cited Page:

Loos, Adolf. Josephine Baker House. 1928, architectural drawing, Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections. ARTstor, library.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4. Adolf Loos, Josephine Baker House, 1928, architectural drawing, Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections; ARTstor, library.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Image from a Website

Works Cited Page:

Casanova, Tiago. Photograph of interior hallway of dental clinic by atelierdacosta. 2015, Canidelo, Portugal. "Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta," ArchDaily, 10 October, 2015, www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 6. Tiago Casanova, Photograph of interior hallway of dental clinic by atelierdacosta, 2015, Canidelo, Portugal; "Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta," ArchDaily, 10 October, 2015, www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Standard

Reference List

Organization Name. Title. Standard Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date of Access.

In Text

(Organization Name, Title)

Example:

International Code Council. 2018 International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities. [BS] 501.3.4, International Code Council, 2017, MADCAD. Accessed June 21, 2018

Newspaper

Geczi, Michael. "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas." Dallas Morning News, 26 October 1983, p. D1.

Webpage

The American Institute of Architects. “Innovation Awards.” AIA, 29 Jun. 2018, https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program.

Blog

Michael Maltazan Architecture. "Crest Apartments." ArchDaily Projects, ArchDaily. 28 June 2018, https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture

Film or Video Recording

My Architect. Directed by Nathaniel Kahn, New Yorker Video, 2004.