Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legislative History & Process - Library Databases
Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. Includes indexing: CIS congressional indexes.
CQ Weekly reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. CQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983 and may be searched by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.
Useful for locating volumes of the Alabama House and Senate Journals.
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. It includes content digitized as part of the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by member libraries. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law. As of March 2015, the HathiTrust digital library contained over 13 million digitized volumes, of which almost 5 million volumes were in the public domain (source: http://www.hathitrust.org/statistics_visualizations).
Legislative History & Process - Websites
Legislation can sometimes be an intricate process requiring amendments, testimony, hearings, reports, debates, etc. Listed below are several sources for locating this kind of information.
Legislative History & Process - Print Resources
Political Science Librarian