Subject Guides: Law: Legislative Information: Public Laws

Public Laws - Library Databases

Once a bill has been passed, it becomes a public law or a statute. These are also sometimes known as session laws.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. Includes indexing: CIS congressional indexes.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
To locate Statutes at Large, Public Laws, etc. first click on "Menu" upper left side of screen and then "All Sources" followed by "Narrow by Category" and select "Statutes and Legislation."
Nexis Uni provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Two ways to get started: either 1) "Statutes and Court Rules" link or 2) click on "Federal materials" tab.
Westlaw is a online legal research tool that includes: decisions and case law from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts in addition to over a million unpublished cases; Laws from all 50 states and federal statutes as published in the United States Code Annotated; Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence 2d; and law review and legal journal articles.

Public Laws - Websites

Once a bill has been passed, it becomes a public law or a statute. These are also sometimes known as session laws.

Congress.gov
Full-text available for 1993 onward.
GovInfo
Full-text available for 1995 onward. Also includes United States Statutes at Large for 1951-2012 (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=STATUTE).
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Click on "Statutes at Large" link. Covers 1789-1875.

Public Laws - Print Resources

Located under Superintendent of Documents ("SuDoc") call number AE 2.111: for 1937 onward.

Located under Superintendent of Documents ("SuDoc") call number GS 4.111: for 1893/95 - 1935/36.

Political Science Librarian

Tim Dodge

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Department
Ralph Brown Draughon Library
231 Mell St.
Auburn University, AL 36849-5606

(334) 844-1729

Subjects: Drama, History, Military Science, Political Science, Theatre

Law: Legislative Information: Public Laws

Public Laws - Library Databases

Public Laws - Websites

Public Laws - Print Resources

Political Science Librarian

Chat