Alabama Power Nuclear Power Generation Systems program: Patents

Search for patents at the United States Patent and Trademark Office site.

New and improved interface for searching USPTO patents.

Unique online source for online color images of plant patents hosed by the University of Maryland Libraries.

Search the Espacenet database for patents filed around the world, including Europe and the United States and other countries.

Free site to graphically analyze trends in patenting and the their locations globally.

Japanese patent information. English language interface available.

Primary patent database of WIPO.

Links to WIPO databases of patents, marks, designs, laws, and statistics. Broader than PATENTSCOPE

Global patent database hosted by Google. Excellent for historical research of US patents.

The Cooperative Patent Classification is the system used by the USPTO to classify patents. This site has a link to a table of the Classifications.

German Patent Office website.

Commercial Patent search database.

Site for all Official Gazettes. Organized by date and published weekly.

The US Department of Agriculture protects varieties of plants, seeds and tubers. This system is separate from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Database of Canadian patents.

A patent search site with the advantage of being able to fine tune the fields in the patent one searches with greater control than other databases.

Offers information to inventors on detecting and avoiding fraudulent invention promotion scams.

A site set up by a lawyer but with a lot of good advice for new inventors.

An Espacenet site that has many links to global patent information.

Site for the UK's IPO and contains information about the operations of the office and its regulations and limited information to patents.

The organization that represents US Patent and Trademark Resource Centers.

Organization that represents Intellectual Property Lawyers.

Organization of patent attorneys and agents.

Organization of patent searchers and patent database vendors.

Central site to search for US trademarks three different ways. Beginners should start with the Basic Word Search.

Trademark Gazette

US Copyright site allows you to research and register copyrights.

Information about inventions and inventors and focused on kids.

Interesting annual study of patent trends around the world.

11 videos that describe innovations and inventions.

Interface in English. Patents in Swedish.

A project by Europe to put IP decision support information for small and medium enterprises in their hands.

USPTO program that matches qualifying inventors and small businesses with patent attorneys.

Organization that promotes inventors and university supported innovations.

This manual contains the regulations followed by USPTO examiners and is critical to inventors so that they follow the rules when filing their invention.

Many states, including Alabama, offer trademark protection to businesses in their states.

Regarding searching sound marks on TESS. Using the TESS Free Form, conduct this search: 6[MD] and sound[DE] . You will get a link of all the sound marks that we have in the TESS database. In searching for marks that are similar the use of the words in the mark, if there are words, as in a jingle, these can be searched in the [DE] field for Description of mark. If only sounds are used in the mark, you would also look in the DE field with the description of the musical notes to check for similarities. To hear the marks, you may be able to find the media file in the specimen document in its TSDR application file record (a blue button on each TESS record will link you to the TSDR record).

A historical patent search engine that allows one to search for pre-1920 patents by the last name of the inventor.

A handbook for assessing the value of a patent.

Place for qualifying Alabama inventors and small businesses to get legal help in filing their patent.

Go here to see the stories of heroic inventors!

Information about Patent system with self-paced quizzes included.

Will convert a CPC classification to an NAICS classification to identify industrial sectors related to the invention classification.

Analyzes selected topics on innovations, including artificial intelligence.

Searches trademarks registered with the state of Alabama. This does not search the USPTO national trademark registry.

Guidance on that basics of trademarks and filing for applicants.

WIPO Publications
The WIPO publications collection features a wide range of knowledge products – from annual reports, economic research and statistical analysis to general guides, introductory overviews and practical manuals.