Subject Guides: Pharmacy: Articles & Databases

Databases--Heatlh/Sciences

Pharmacy Specific

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice

Health Related

PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web site
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,400 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present.
Embase This link opens in a new window Biomedical medical literature database that allows users to build comprehensive systemic reviews. Includes content from 1947 to the present indexed using unique Ebase subject headings and the Emtree life science thesaurus.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields including: cardiopulmonary technology, emergency service, health education, medical laboratory, medical assistant, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant, radiologic technology, technology therapy, social service and surgical technology.

Cochrane Library Systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making

Toxicology/Science

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window NOTE: To limit to Pharmacy, choose Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Pharmaceutical Science in the Browse Publications by Subject section.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. 10 Simultaneous Users
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window 3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. Images may be manipulated by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes. Auburn University Libraries subscribes to three sections of Anatomy.tv: 1) Audiology, SLP, and Head and Neck Neuroanatomy (under Clinical Specialties), 2) General Human Anatomy and Physiology, and 3) Functional Anatomy

Databases--Other

Business, Economics, Managment

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business.
EconLit This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database contains more than 350,00 records and covers subjects from accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and more. The database contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business is a comprehensive business database that includes over 2,800 scholarly journals, more than 2,500 magazines and trade journals, 27,000 e-books, 21,000 streaming videos, and the content of over 130 newspapers. This resource also includes thousands of market, country, and industry reports, more than 25,000 case studies and business cases, and over 55,000 dissertations.

Education

ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 950,000 articles and documents from 1966 onward.

Education Research Complete
more...less...
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Communication/Information Science

Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Library Literature & Information Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database that indexes more than 229 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere from 1984 to the present. Books, chapters within books, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts of the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines

Database Tutorials

Ovid (Medline, IPA)
PubMed Tutorials Tip sheets and brief animated tutorials with audio.

Chat

Finding Articles

To find journal articles on a topic, try the library databases listed to the left. Other databases can be found on the Libraries databases page. NOTE: If you are searching off-campus, you will need to login with your AU global ID and password

Journal Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Journal citation reports is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

NLM Catalog
Search for journals indexed in PubMed/Medline. Includes whether the journals are currently indexed and usually electronic links for more information.

Journal Abbreviations

PubMed/Medline Journal Abbreviations
Enter journal abbreviations in search box to find full title OR enter full title to find journal abbreviation.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window Enter journal abbreviation in the Title box and click Search to find the full title.

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Pharmacy: Articles & Databases