Transforming Pharmaceutical Research with Artificial Intelligence
by
Artificial intelligence (AI) technologies enable researchers to analyze vast amounts of data, identify patterns, and predict potential drug candidates with unprecedented accuracy. By automating time-consuming tasks, AI accelerates the discovery of new therapies while reducing costs and improving outcomes. AI’s ability to process complex biological and chemical information paves the way for personalized medicine, where treatments can be tailored to individual patients based on their unique genetic makeup. As AI continues to evolve, its integration into pharmaceutical research may unlock new possibilities in healthcare, from groundbreaking treatments to efficient drug delivery.
Transforming Pharmaceutical Research With Artificial Intelligence explores the multifaceted landscape where technology intersects with the pharmaceutical domain. From innovative digital solutions optimizing drug discovery to the integration of artificial intelligence in clinical trials, it examines the evolution of the industry, scrutinizing challenges, showcasing initiatives, and elucidating best practices. This book covers topics such as drug discovery, biomarkers, and precision therapeutics, and is a useful resource for pharmacologists, computer engineers, economists, business owners, medical professionals, academicians, and researchers.
Pharmacovigilance: A practical approach
by
Written by multidisciplinary experts in the fields of pharmaceutical and patient safety, Pharmacovigilance: A Practical Approach, Second Edition, provides a succinct, easy-to-digest overview of an increasingly critical area of medical safety. From cover to cover, this concise resource offers essential information for physicians and other health care professionals, clinical researchers, and regulators who need a comprehensive, up-to-date source of information on the principles and practice of pharmacovigilance.
Metabolomics Perspectives:From Theory to Practical Application
by
Metabolomics Perspectives: From Theory to Practical Application is an expertly written volume, which provides a thorough description of the current state-of-the-art in the metabolomics field.The philosophy behind the book is to guide the reader in a step-by-step exploration of metabolomics experiments, ranging from sample preparation to data extraction, analysis and interpretation, and to discuss the main current applications and future perspectives of this emerging science.Armed with critical insights, coupled with a clear writing, the book consists of three main sections. The first one introduces the pivotal theoretical fundamentals and provides a comprehensive overview of the "wet" laboratory workflow, including protocol instructions and a detailed description of experimental methods and analytical techniques. The second section covers a wide range of topics in the context of data analysis, including guidance in exploratory analysis, supervised and unsupervised machine learning approaches and validation and optimization methods. In addition to the several examples reported in the text, the book features an R package, specifically designed to perform all the described algorithms, which is hosted on a companion website (www.metabolomicsperspectives.com) together with several sets of available metabolomic data. Finally, an extensive dissertation describes the latest advances and the major fields of interest for metabolomics applications, highlighting their crucial potentials for future biomedical research.Thus, this book represents a must-read for both experienced researchers, interested in metabolomics, and newcomers to the field.- Provides an in-depth description of the metabolomics experimental workflow and its applications in life science and biomedical research- Features chapter contributions from the greatest international experts in the field- Includes an R package and several sets of metabolomics data, hosted on a companion website
Drug Discovery Stories: From Bench to Bedside
by
Drug Discovery Stories: From Bench to Bedside presents a collection of cases on the development of highly successful pharmaceuticals. It delves into the realm of drug discovery, exploring the structural biology and biological functions of the sought-after targets. The book covers the identification of promising compounds, their transformation from hits to leads through meticulous optimization, and the elucidation of how key compounds interact with the target (in essence, providing invaluable insights for drug design). Additionally, it covers essential information such as the pivotal biological and PK data of lead compounds, any noteworthy clinical results, and a comprehensive overview of other candidate compounds.The field of drug discovery and development has experienced rapid evolution, with numerous new drugs receiving approval each year. While several books have been published on this subject, there is a pressing need for a new book series that accurately reflects the current advancements in drug discovery. This book aims to not only cater to the drug discovery community but also engage other communities involved in chemical biology, synthetic chemistry, and pharmacology.- Analyzes the drug discovery stories of different blockbuster drugs- Includes the newly approved drugs- Covers key aspects related to the drug development of the drugs
Fundamentals of pharmacognosy and phytotherapy
by
Pharmacognosy, the science of nature-derived drugs, pharmaceuticals, and poisons, played a crucial role in the development of modern medicine, and now has an equally important place in healthcare all over the world. This wide scope ranges from traditional medicine systems and herbal and nutritional therapies, the preparation and use of highly standardised and clinically tested herbal medicines, to the production of potent drugs used only in a purified form. Natural sources mainly focus on plants, fungi and algae, but drug discovery of novel compounds and structures includes bacteria and even marine animals. Fundamentals of Pharmacognosy and Phytotherapy is a landmark textbook that covers this spectrum of medicinal plant use. Written by leading experts in this field, this book takes the reader through the history, identification, and quality assurance of plant-based medicines to their therapeutic properties, safety, and compatibility and interaction with prescribed drugs. Aimed at students of all healthcare professions, including pharmacy, medicine, nursing and complementary therapies, the comprehensively updated information in this textbook is also relevant to those companies and organisations concerned with the regulation and testing of herbal medicines (phytomedicines), other natural health products, nutraceuticals and dietary supplements.
Pharmacoproteomics: recent trends and applications
by
This book gives an overview of pharmacoproteomics and its clinical applications, as well as the latest information on drug mechanisms at the proteome level, the relationship between proteomics and toxicity or resistance, and how proteomics aid in discovery of new drug targets. The book also highlights recent advances in analytical methods, analysis, and interpretation of pharmacoproteomic data.
Cannabis science and therapeutics: the essential guide for clinicians
by
Over the last several decades, cannabis has been increasingly accepted as a legitimate therapeutic option by the public. Healthcare professionals, most of whom did not learn about cannabis, cannabinoids, or the endocannabinoid system in school, face the challenge of understanding the potential benefits, risks, and role of cannabis-based medicine in patient care. Cannabis Science and Therapeutics: The Essential Guide for Clinicians provides evidence-based information and practical guidance to empower clinicians to navigate the complex scientific and regulatory landscape of cannabis-based medicine.
Cannabis Science and Therapeutics begins with an overview of the endocannabinoid system and cannabinoid pharmacology-- the scientific foundation for clinical applications of cannabis-based medicine. It also clarifies what the evidence really says about cannabis use for different medical conditions and how clinicians can interpret clinical and pre-clinical data to make decisions with patients about safe and effective use of cannabis-based medicine. This book includes the most up-to-date guidance on patient selection, administration, dosing, safety monitoring, drug interactions, and harm reduction strategies. A review of public health considerations provides readers with information necessary to engage patients, colleagues, policymakers, and other stakeholders in robust and balanced dialogue about the role of cannabis-based medicine in society. The book briefly overviews federal and state cannabis regulations, with a focus on implications for research. This book is intended both for readers with limited exposure to cannabis-based medicine and those already familiar with it who are seeking a comprehensive resource.
Symptoms in the Pharmacy
by
Community pharmacies are often the first source for information and advice when health problems arise. Increasingly patients are being referred to pharmacists by other health care professionals through Pharmacy First and similar schemes. This book presents a decision-making framework along with 'red flags', 'when to refer' and evidence-based treatment recommendations. A unique feature is that case studies appear throughout, in which pharmacists, doctors, nurses, and patients describe assessment and treatment of a wide range of common problems. Highlights of this substantially updated tenth edition are: The addition of seven major sections covering the initial Pharmacy First scheme in England: acute otitis media (AOM); impetigo; infected insect bites; shingles; acute sinusitis; sore throat; and uncomplicated urinary tract infection in women. A changed book title to reflect the increasing remit of community pharmacy in disease prevention, with extended content on topics such as blood pressure measurement and shingles vaccination. 'The consultation' expanded in a new chapter, including decisions about supplying antibiotics with a suggested framework to reflect antimicrobial stewardship. Pharmacy continuation of contraceptive pills and the Pharmacy Contraception service. Revisited and updated information on COVID-19 and long COVID in the light of the transition of COVID-19 to an endemic state. Practicing and Foundation trainee pharmacists, as well as undergraduate pharmacy students and many other healthcare professionals, will find Symptoms in the Pharmacy: A Guide to the Management of Common Illnesses and Disease Prevention invaluable.
How to perform a systematic literature review a guide for health and social care researchers, practitioners and students
by
The systematic review is a rigorous method of collating and synthesizing evidence from multiple studies, producing a whole greater than the sum of parts. This textbook is an authoritative and accessible guide to an activity that is often found overwhelming. The authors steer readers on a logical, sequential path through the process, taking account of the different needs of researchers, students and practitioners. Practical guidance is provided on the fundamentals of systematic reviewing and also on advanced techniques such as meta-analysis. Examples are given in each chapter, with a succinct glossary to support the text. This up-to-date, accessible textbook will satisfy the needs of students, practitioners and educators in the sphere of healthcare, and contribute to improving the quality of evidence-based practice. The authors will advise some freely available or inexpensive open source/access resources (such as PubMed, R and Zotero) to help students how to perform a systemic review, in particular those with limited resources.
Principles and practice of pharmacovigilance and drug safety
by
The science of drug safety and pharmacovigilance has rapidly evolved in the 21st century. The knowledge and principles it contains are of increasing importance in clinical and practice settings. The aim of this book is to deal with the gap in knowledge about pharmacovigilance and drug safety, including the application of pharmacovigilance knowledge to individual patient cases in clinical practice.
A holistic approach is taken with each chapter written from the perspective of a practitioner, industry personnel, researcher, or regulator, creating a synergy between drug safety, pharmacovigilance, and clinical practice. Chapters offer key material on adverse drug reactions, medication errors, prescribing safety, pharmacovigilance as well as data sources used in drug safety and pharmacovigilance. Each chapter is structured as a self-contained learning resource, with learning objectives, and worked cases.
The book is suitable for undergraduate healthcare professions, postgraduate students, researchers, clinical practitioners – including those with prescribing responsibilities. It will also be useful for professionals moving from a clinical practice role to a specialist pharmacovigilance role. For those already in a pharmacovigilance role, the book offers insight into the theory and practice of drug safety and pharmacovigilance in clinical settings.
Pharmacology clear & simple: A guide to medication classifications and dosage calculations
by
Here’s the must-have knowledge and guidance students need to gain a solid understanding of pharmacology and the safe administration of medications in one text. A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare them to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting.
Antibiotics and their mechanisms of action
by
“Antibiotics and their mechanisms of action” provides a deep and lucid understanding of the mechanisms of action of various antibiotics. The experiments followed to decipher the mechanisms have been explained in great depth, which is a novelty in this textbook. Most undergraduate textbooks on antibiotics place emphasis on their use from the clinician’s perspective. Taking penicillin as an example, typical textbooks discuss its discovery, penicillin’s β-lactam derivatives, routes of administration, the diseases and pathogens treated with β-lactam antibiotics, side effects, and finally the mechanisms of resistance that have evolved against penicillin. No description of how its mechanism of action was deciphered is ever provided. This textbook describes how simple experiments using protoplasts, covalent affinity chromatography, SYPRO Orange binding assays, and X-ray crystallography have all been used to elucidate the mechanism of action of penicillin. Like this, the complicated mechanisms of action of different antibiotics have been presented in simple terms with the help of original illustrations.
Pharmaceutical Calculations
by
Retaining the successful previous editions' programmed instructional format, this book improves and updates an authoritative textbook to keep pace with compounding trends and calculations - addressing real-world calculations pharmacists perform and allowing students to learn at their own pace through examples. Connects well with the current emphasis on self-paced and active learning in pharmacy schools Adds a new chapter dedicated to practical calculations used in contemporary compounding, new appendices, and solutions and answers for all problems Maintains value for teaching pharmacy students the principles while also serving as a reference for review by students in preparation for licensure exams Rearranges chapters and rewrites topics of the previous edition, making its content ideal to be used as the primary textbook in a typical dosage calculations course for any health care professional Reviews of the prior edition: "...a well-structured approach to the topic..." (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy) and "...a perfectly organized manual that serves as a expert guide..." (Electric Review)
Hale's medications & mothers' milk 2025-2026 A Manual of Lactational Pharmacology
by
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk is the ultimate resource for safe medication practices during breastfeeding. This meticulously updated edition offers the most current, evidence-based information available, maintaining its reputation as the definitive standard for medication safety in lactation.
Written by world-renowned clinical pharmacologists, the detailed manual helps lactation consultants, pharmacists, and healthcare providers who work with women and children weigh the relative risks associated with commonly used medications, drawing from the latest evidence-based studies. Structured for quick and efficient use, this guide features Dr. Thomas W. Hale's renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC), which provide essential insight, listing safe medication alternatives that can be used now or in the future.
The manual is intuitively organized to highlight key points, offer practical tips, and present easy-to-understand diagrams, common abbreviations, and concise information for evaluating infant health. This indispensable resource helps healthcare professionals to ensure the safety and well-being of both mother and infant. Embrace the peace of mind that comes with having reliable, expert-vetted knowledge at your fingertips.
Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions
by
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
by
Ullmann's Pharmaceuticals
by
Based on the WHO's Anatomical Therapeutical Chemical (ATC) classification system, virtually all marketed therapeutics are covered here in 48 topical sections. Each section contains a general introduction to the therapeutic class, current developments, and challenges, followed by a systematic listing of all important marketed products. For each therapeutic, up-to-date information on compound structure, mechanism, formulation, clinical use, time on market, and production methods is provided, complete with refrences to the scientific and patent literature. With ULLMANN's being one of the most renowned and trusted references in the field of industrial chemistry, this selection of ULLMANN's articles is an indispensable guide for every professional in the pharmaceutical and medical sector and provides reliable data on more than 3,500 pharmaceutical products marketed up to 2021.
The Electronic Books Guide (link below) has information about previewing, downloading, and searching ebooks through EBL, Ebrary, Ebsco, and Springer.
The APhA Complete Review for Pharmacy
by
The North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination© (NAPLEX©) is the licensing exam that each U.S. college or school of pharmacy graduate must pass in order to practice as a pharmacist. This comprehensive yet concise review prepares the reader to succeed on the NAPLEX by focusing on the information most pertinent to the exam. The APhA Complete Review for Pharmacy is in an easy-to-read format with icons, key points, study guide checklists, figures, tables, and boxes to organize information. The best way to prepare for an exam is with practice questions. This book provides over XXX practice questions that include an answer key and explanations of the answer options. In addition to being a valuable resource for individuals preparing for the NAPLEX© exam, The APhA Complete Review for Pharmacy is a useful resource for busy pharmacists seeking to stay current. KEY FEATURES: Each of the 43 chapters and XXX review questions has been reviewed and revised by authors and the editorial team to provide up-to-date information. Chapters cover content specified by the NAPLEX Competency Statements (2021) The Top 100 drugs are indicated in bold face to indicate commonly used medications. Key Points and a Study Guide Checklist start each chapter, providing useful study points and an opportunity to self-assess prior to reading the chapter and taking the practice questions. The Complete Review contains more than 900 practice exam questions and answers, including explanations that reinforce key learning points.
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons
by
DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Ed
by
This new edition of the authoritative pharmacotherapy text has been fully updated with the latest evidence-based information and recommendations For more than 30 years, Dipiro's Pharmacotherapy has been the essential textbook for learning how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs―everything needed to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With content from 300 expert contributors, it offers detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means. Each disease chapter opens with Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care. Features Loaded with pedagogy to help students fully master concepts and practices Key concepts begin each chapter Includes algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing guideline recommendations, and monitoring approaches updated in full color to clearly distinguish treatment pathways New drug monitoring tables have been added Patient care process boxes help readers know how to communicate with other health care providers
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs
by
Written and peer reviewed by experts in practice and academia, the 20th edition of the Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs: An Interactive Approach to Self-Care is an authoritative resource for students and for health care providers who counsel and care for patients undertaking self-treatment-nonprescription drugs, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary therapies. Its goal is to develop the knowledge and problem-solving skills needed to assess a patient's health status and current practice of self-treatment, to determine whether self-care is necessary or appropriate, and, if appropriate, to recommend safe and effective self-care measures. KEY FEATURES: Enhanced content in all chapters from the previous edition with up-to-date information beneficial to all health care providers and students. Updates to the universal objectives to complement the content in the chapters focused on medical disorders. Abstracts for each online chapter providing concise introductory material focused on key features of each chapter. Up-to-date content on nonprescription medications including indications, dosages, interactions, current evidence, medical conditions and prescription to nonprescription reclassifications. Quick-reference tools such as treatment algorithms (including exclusions for self-treatment), drug product tables, patient education sidebars, and product administration illustrations.
Litt's drug eruption & reaction manual
by
Litt’s Drug Eruption & Reaction Manual is a succinct reference to give clinicians the essential information for an informed decision about patient management. The full database from which it is derived ― Litt’s Drug Eruption & Reaction database: www.drugeruptiondata.com ― currently holds over 1800 drug profiles with over 73,000 documented drug reactions, as evidenced by well over 156,000 references on PubMed, and is internationally relied upon by medical practitioners for its unparalleled focus on adverse effects and cutaneous reactions.
