English Primary Sources (Online & Microform)

The set includes general, religious, musical, social science and science titles. A guide to the series is available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection, call number PN 4877 .A488 Guide. Individual titles can be found in the Libraries' catalog.

The set includes general, religious, musical, social science and science titles. A guide to the series is available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection. Individual titles can be found in the Libraries' catalog.

18th century British newspapers collected by the Rev. Charles Burney. For a detailed indexing of this collection, see Title and Reel indices to Burney in the "Additional Information about AUL's Collections" box below.

18th and 19th century British journals, magazines, and reviews covering a wide-range of topics: slavery, sports, economics, folklore, science and religion. Individual titles can also be found in the catalog.

The two collections contain titles listed in A.W. Pollard and G. B. Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (STC) (1475-1640); and D. Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700). The list includes books published in England, Scotland and Ireland, as well as English books printed abroad.

The two collections contain titles listed in A.W. Pollard and G. B. Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (STC) (1475-1640); and D. Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700). The list includes books published in England, Scotland and Ireland, as well as English books printed abroad.

First series, 1639-1800, collection contains books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States or British American colonies, based on Evans' American Bibliography. Titles are in the Libraries' catalog.

Second series, 1801-1819, collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides and documents. Titles are in the Libraries' catalog.

Date range: 1600-1900 (17th, 18th, 19th centuries). Literary periodical tiles include essays, book reviews, poetry, and articles on theatre, humor, politics and religion. Guide, titled Accessing English Literary Periodicals, is available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection (call number PR 1 .E54 Guide) and includes title, subject, editor and reel #s. Individual periodical titles can also be found in the Libraries' catalog.

Economic literature from the Goldsmiths' Library at the University of London and the Kress Collection at Baker Library, Harvard Business. Included are works on economic theory, trade, commerce, and finance, technical literature on agriculture, mining, crafts and manufacturing. Also included are materials on slavery, public utilities, demography, urban development, piracy, smuggling, tithes, counterfeiting and numismatics, poverty and welfare, penology, emigration, dietary conditions, and colonies. Individual titles can also be found in the catalog.

18th century extracts from journal titles held at the Bodleian. A guide is available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection (call number CB 411 .E324 2000), and lists reel contents by title, subjects, and detailed alphabetical title list.

Medieval and some post-medieval manuscripts of Greek and Latin literary works which are housed in Trinity College's Wren Library at Cambridge. Also included are medieval commentaries and notes on classical subjects, collections of excerpts translations of ancient works into English, French and Spanish. Authors included Homer, Aeschylus, Plato, Terence, Virgil, Seneca, Macrobius, et al. Miscellany includes a text of Aesop's Fables, a copybook of George IV, and drawings of Roman coins. Individual titles not listed in catalog. Guide (reel by reel title list only) is available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection, call number PR 1105 .T56 Sec. 5 Guide.

A collection of 19th century American fiction based on Lyle Wright's bibliography of American Fiction, 1851-1875. Some also available on Microfilm: American Fiction, 1774-1900, microfilm collection call number PS 15 .W75 (series, number assigned by Wright, then reel number). American Fiction, 1774-1900: A Guide to the Microfilm Collection, available on the 1st floor near the microfilm collection, call number PS 15 .A44 Guide. Individual titles are also listed in the catalog.