Subject Guides: Finding Research Instruments: Online Sources

Library Provided Resources

Click on title to link directly to resource.

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Reviews of standardized tests. Also includes information about how to locate test instruments. Note that you will have to login with your Auburn username and password if you are off-campus.

Measurement of nursing outcomes. Volume 3, Self care and coping
Electronic Book
Vols. 1 & 2 are available in print, see the print resources section
Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook
Electronic Book
Handbook of Multicultural Measures
Electronic Book
Social Support Measurement and Intervention: A Guide for Health and Social Scientists
Electronic Book

Dissertations and Theses

Some research instruments may be found only in a dissertation or thesis. Below are 3 sources for searching dissertations and theses. Proquest is provided by the AU Libraries, you will be required to login off campus, the other 2 are freely available Internet resources. A good search to start with is your condition or topic AND research instrument but you may need to expand your search with synonyms or subject headings. If you need help constructing a search strategy, check out Modules 2, 3, & 4 of the Library Instruction Tutorial for Graduate Nursing Students.

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes the full text of most U. S. dissertations and master's thesis from 1995 forward. The database also includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Nursing Commons
Open Access repository containing theses, and dissertations from selected institutions

Library Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window In CINAHL, use the Forms, Questionnaire/Scales, and/or Research Instrument limits available under 'Publication Type' (located on the search page under Limit Your Results). Use the Control key to choose more than 1 limit. Provides information about Nursing specific research instruments.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window There are several ways to find instruments in PsycINFO.1. Use the following search:TM Appended AND topic, for example:TM Appended AND fear2. Search for a specific test by entering the test name in the Tests and Measures box (on the search page under Limit Your Results)3. Enter your topic in the search box and then choose an appropriate Classification Code before searching (on the search page under Limit Your Results) for example 2220 Tests & Testing or 2222 Developmental Scales & Schedules Contains research instruments related to psychological health, cognitive and behavioral issues, etc.

Other Databases
For other databases, try searching for your condition or topic AND research instrument, for example:

Depression AND research instrument

You can also try synonyms for research instrument such as questionnaire or scale or measurement

Using Search Engines

Some instruments can be found using search engines such as Google, Google Scholar, or Yahoo. Try searching for your condition or topic AND research instrument, for example:

Depression AND research instrument

You can also try synonyms for research instrument such as questionnaire or scale or measurement

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Resources Available on the Internet

Reference List of Tools, Instruments, and Measurements Useful to Nurses
The list is divided by general topics. There may be costs and copyright considerations associated with the use of some tools. Tools referenced under a certain topic may be useful in other areas.
Research Instruments Developed, Adapted or Used by the Stanford Patient Education Research Center
Self-administered scales in English, French, and Spanish for research subjects with chronic diseases. You may use any of these scales at no cost without permission.
PROMIS
PROMIS® (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System) is a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children. It can be used with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions.
Rand Health Surveys and Tools
All of the surveys are public documents, available without charge.
Health Literacy Tool Shed
A database of health literacy measures which can be filtered by Health Literacy domain measured or by specific disease or condition. Some tools may require payment or author permission.
more...less...
Only includes tools (health literacy measures, instruments, and items) that:
-Are published in peer-reviewed journals, which describe the measure and its development process.
-Were published prior to January 2014. We are planning to add more over time.
-Measure an individual’s health literacy. Some of the health literacy tools that are not included assess the complexity of the health care system, provider communication skills, or other facets of organizations or materials.
Online books by Dr. William E. Snell, Jr.
Books include research on intimate relations, human sexuality, gender roles, and psychological health. Copies of instruments are available at the end of chapters and are free to use.

Finding Research Instruments: Online Sources