Theatre

A collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. The list begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d'Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner's 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories. Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance. All illuminate the manner in which people have joyfully expressed themselves as they dance for and with one another.

Includes numerous signed essays, alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).

In addition to historical and descriptive materials on dance music and costume, numerous entries provide coverage of methodologies, theories, criticism and the history of dance writing and publication.

This comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse dance scene of the 21st century. It includes entries ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance.

Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.

Explores eight body areas: shoulder joint; scapula; hip joint; knee joint; spine; rib cage; tibia and fibula; and ankle, tarsus, and toes.

Volume One: features dance forms, period costumes and dance music from the 15th through 19th centuries from the courts of Italy, France, England and the grand ballrooms of America. Volume Two: features dance forms, period costumes and dance music from twentieth century America from the "animal dances" of the 1910's through the hip hop of the 1990's.

Includes 60 historical dance film clips from the first part of the 20th century in the United States, recording changing dance trends, expertise, and taste, and reflecting United States culture through the years. This dance retrospective spans the panorama from average Americans dancing in newsreels to top quality performers who have left a legacy of dance moves across the ballroom floor.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Vol. 1

Instruction on mid-19th century ballroom couple dances. Covered in this program are: the waltz, the gallop, the polka, the schottische, and the polka mazurka.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Vol. II

Includes: Animal Dances Fox Trot, Horse Trot, Kangaroo Hop, Duck Waddle, Squirrel, Chicken Scratch, Turkey Trot, Grizzly Bear, Castle Walk, Tango, Maxixe, and Hesitation Waltz.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Vol. III

Learn many aspects of Italian Renaissance dance by practicing one famous dance suite, Nido d Amore -Nest of Love.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Volume IV

Teaches the famously patterned dance steps from the French Baroque courts and countryside. These forms are the precursor to ballet and ballroom dance.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Vol. V

Teaches exciting variations on the basic Waltz, Polka, Galop or Gallop, and Mazurka.

HOW TO DANCE THROUGH TIME Volume VI

Demonstrates easy to follow popular group dances of the 19th century: the grand march, the lancers quadrille and the cotillon.

Documents the women who revolutionized the art of American percussive dance

This documentary explores the history and scope of the Hip-Hop dance style, from how it was first introduced to mainstream America in the early 1970s as break dancing (or b-boying) to discussions of how Hip-Hop has evolved and where it's headed.