Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Why Evaluate?: Where to Find Publications

A table to defining types of publications and best places to search for them.

Places to Find or Search for Publications:

Type of Publication:

Definition:

Where to Find or
Search for These:

Notes:

Research journal

Sometimes called scholarly journal; or, if it is peer-reviewed,  can be called a peer-reviewed journal or a refereed journal

Usually reports on studies and scientific/academic research

Subject databases available on the library website

 

Google Scholar

For criteria go to scholarly (peer-reviewed, refereed or academic)


Example: JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
(AU users login through catalog record)

Trade magazine

A periodical that contains news and information related to a particular industry; sometimes called trade journals or trade publications.

Business databases or other subject databases available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

For criteria go to trade or professional; articles are sometime scholarly but not usually peer-reviewed or refereed

 

Example:
Billboard

 

News articles

Usually refers to newspaper or magazine articles.

Electronic databases available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

For criteria go to popular

Example: 
U.S. News & World Report

Books

 

Library catalog

Google Books or other digital content providers like the Internet Archive

More and more academic libraries are acquiring electronic versions of books. These are accessed through the library's catalog.

Most "free" books through Google Books, HathiTrust, or the Internet Archive are pre-1923 publications out of copyright.

Reference manual

A print or electronic book that provides information on a topic, but is usually not read consecutively (examples would be an encyclopedia and dictionary).

Library catalog

Electronic databases available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

Example: Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

Note: remember to use general encyclopedias only as a starting place -- you seldom cite from the articles in your final project

Conference  papers

Papers that report on talks and presentations given at professional conferences.

Library catalog

Electronic databases available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

Example:

Rotaru, M. (2010). Royal  speech prevents crisis Queen Elizabeth's speech on the death of Princess Diana. PCTS Proceedings, 3(1/2), 41-48.

Dissertations

An essay/report/study usually written for completion of a doctorate degree.

Library catalog

Electronic databases like Auburn University Theses and Dissertations (AUETD)  or Dissertations & Theses (includes other colleges and universities besides Auburn) available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

Examples: Langen, Nina. Ethics in Consumer Choice an Empirical Analysis Based on the Example of Coffee

Menefee, Arturo. The Significance of the Non-Profit Sector in America: A Case Study of Hurricane Katrina

 

 

 

Internet

 

 

Although searching the Internet brings up lots of results, ask yourself, "Is this is the best place to start?" If you need articles from a library resource, wouldn't it be better to start from the library home page?

Indexes/Abstracts Printed

Similar to electronic databases, printed indexes and abstracts can direct you to articles on your topic.

 

Library catalog

Example:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

Online database version Readers' Guide Retrospective

Electronic databases

Sometimes called library databases, online databases, or subscription databases. The library pays a fee to the database providers to obtain access to articles that are not freely available elsewhere.

General interest or Subject databases available on the library website

 

Examples: For general --
Academic Search Premier or MasterFILE Premier

For subject -- PsycINFOABI/Inform

Government publications

Publications published by a government; includes local, state, regional, national, and international governmental agencies

Library catalog

Electronic database like the  U.S. Congressional Serial Set available on the library website

Internet or by using a specialized search engine like search.usa.gov for U.S. federal, state, and local agencies

 

Example: Investigation of Television Quiz Shows. Hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, Eighty-sixth Congress, first session (1960)

Note: since so many recent government documents are available only electronically on the Internet, check with your instructor or professor to see if he or she classifies them as "published" rather than "web" resources

Thesis

Similar to a dissertation, but often at the master’s degree level.

Library catalog

Electronic databases like Auburn University Theses and Dissertations (AUETD)  or Dissertations & Theses (includes other colleges and universities besides Auburn) available on the library website

Sometimes free on the Internet

Examples: Armstrong, Jessica. A Narrative Look at the Regional Voice of Political Columnist Molly Ivins

Lee, Willis. Desegregation at Auburn University: A Historical Look at the Uses of Media

Helpful Links & Documents

Definitions:

Unless otherwise indicated, all definitions are from Oxford Dictionaries.