Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are resources for finding book reviews in history.
Book Review Index; 1965-present
Call Number: Z 1035 .A1 B6
Publication Date: 2001
Location: 2nd floor Reference Collection. (Blue/yellow covers!) Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. A title index is included in back of each volume if author uncertain. Obtain full title of periodical from list of abbreviations in front of volume. Search the library catalog to see if we have journal and issue
Book Review Digest; 1906-1999
Call Number: Z 1219 .B72
Publication Date: 1906-
Location: 2nd Floor Reference Collection. Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Excerpts of some reviews included. A subject/title index found in back volume. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. To search the library catalog to see if we have periodical, get full title from list of abbreviations in front.
H-Net book reviews
The major listserv for research in history; includes book reviews.
Online; 1993 - present. This website lists all the reviews of books posted to the H-net group of history listservs. Click on either "1998 Book Reviews," "Search the H-Net Reviews", or "Browse the H-Net Reviews" on the left of the page.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Type the title of the book in quotation marks in the title field. The title of the journal in which the review has been published appears in the full entry. Reviews of books in history sometimes appear two or more years after the publication of the book. Search the library catalog to see if we have journal and year needed to obtain the full text of the review.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Choose Advanced Search option, type field operator = terms relating to your search. After results are displayed click on Advanced Search and click on display number of search results. Next, you can refine your search by selecting facets including Social Sciences and "Reviews" to find book reviews. Check library catalog by Journal Title search to see if we have the journal listed in the citation.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.