Subject Guides: Nursing: Evidence Based Practice

Information about Practicing EBP

Evidence Based Practice Step by Step
The purpose of these 12 articles from the American Journal of Nursing is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.
Glossary of Evidence-based Terms Not a comprehensive glossary but it outlines some of the key terms that should be understood in relation to Evidence-Based practice. From the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine (University of Oxford)
Centre for Evidence-Base Medicine The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practice and teach EBM for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education for health care professionals from a variety of clinical disciplines.

PICO for Clinical Questions

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step: Asking the Clinical Question: A Key Step in Evidence-Based Practice
Stillwell, Susan B.; Fineout-Overholt, Ellen; Melnyk, Bernadette Mazurek; Williamson, Kathleen M. AJN, American Journal of Nursing. 110(3):58-61,

Healthcare professionals sometimes use the PICO or PICOT format to develop keywords for searching of clinical questions where:

P - Patient or Population

I - Intervention

C - Comparison

O - Outcome

T - Time (sometimes included)

For more information about forming and using a PICO question to search, please see the American Journal of Nursing article below.

Evaluating Evidence

How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781444323184
Publication Date: 2010-08-06
Electronic book which describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications.

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme
Downloadable checklists to appraise types of evidence including RCTs, systematic reviews, cohort and case-control studies, qualitative research, economic evaluations, diagnostic tests and clinical predication rules.

Chat

Evidence Pyramid

Link to larger image of evidence pyramid

Journals

ACP Journal Club Publishes reports of original research reviews, debate, & commentary on a broad range of topics related to the care of adults & adolescents. Intended for clinicians, clinical researchers, managers, & other persons involved in providing medical care.
Evidence-based Child Health: A Cochrane Review Journal The aim of the journal is to allow readers to inform their clinical decision-making and policy development with the highest quality research evidence available
Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine eCAM International peer-reviewed journal which seeks to apply scientific rigor to the study of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) modalities, particularly traditional Asian healing systems.
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare A fully refereed journal that publishes original scholarly work relating to the synthesis (translation), transfer (distribution) and utilisation (implementation and evaluation) of evidence to inform multidisciplinary health care practice. The journal also publishes original scholarly commentary pieces relating to the generation and synthesis of evidence for practice, the use and evaluation of evidence in practice, and the process of conducting systematic reviews (methodology) as well as providing a forum for the debate of issues surrounding evidence-based healthcare.
Journal of Advanced Nursing Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base.
Systematic Reviews Systematic Reviews encompasses all aspects of the design, conduct and reporting of systematic reviews. The journal aims to publish high quality systematic review products including systematic review protocols, systematic reviews related to a very broad definition of health, rapid reviews, updates of already completed systematic reviews, and methods research related to the science of systematic reviews, such as decision modeling. The journal also aims to ensure that the results of all well-conducted systematic reviews are published, regardless of their outcome
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing A quarterly, peer-reviewed, journal and information resource from The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, the journal uniquely bridges knowledge and application taking a global approach in its presentation of research, policy and practice, education and management.

Print and Electronic Books

Evidence-based Practice for Nurses : Appraisal and Application of Research by Schmidt, Nola A. & Brown, Janet M. (eds.)
Call Number: Reference Collection RT 81.5 .E95 2015
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Ellen Fineout-Overholt
Call Number: RT 42 .M44 2011
Evidence-Based Nursing Care Guidelines by Betty Ackley
Call Number: electronic book
Publication Date: 2007
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses: From Evidence to Practice by Magdalena A. Mateo, Marquis D. Foreman, eds.
Call Number: electronic book
Publication Date: 2014

Searching Licensed Resources for Clinical Evidence

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making
CINAHL This link opens in a new window There are several ways to search CINAHL for evidence using the 'Limit Your Results' area (under the search boxes) OR "See More" (on a results page).1. You can choose 'Evidence Based Practice' for a broad search to find articles from evidence based practice journals, articles about EBP, research articles, and commentaries on research articles.2. You can choose to limit to Research Articles (all types of research)3. You can search by clinical area of interest or by type of research by choosing one of the 'Clinical Queries' options.4. You can search for a specific type of research by choosing a 'Publication Type' (Clinical Trial, Meta Analysis, Practice Guidelines, Randomized Controlled Trial, Systematic Review)
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window You can search for a specific type of article by choosing a 'Publication Type(s)' (Case reports, Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Meta Analysis, Practice Guidelines, Randomized Controlled Trial, Review)
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window To search for evidence in Ovid Medline, after entering search terms, click on Limits (under search boxes). If Publication Type is not visible, click on Edit Limits. Click the box by Publication Type and then click on Customize Limits. You will be returned to the search page, choose the publication type(s) of interest and Search.You can choose to search by a clinical area of interest under 'Clinical Queries'. Add and use Clinical Queries by editing limits as above. Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,400 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present.

Searchable Open Access Resources

PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialized PubMed searches designed to connect clinicians to evidence-based literature. Results display available systematic reviews as well as research articles arranged by 5 clinical areas--Etiology, Diagnosis, Prognosis, Clinical Prediction Guidelines, & Therapy.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services.
The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.
TRIP Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Offers the ability to filter by several options including evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, primary research, and controlled trials.
Epistemonikos Database
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence, a source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences