Public Relations

Reputation management is the most important theme in public relations and corporate communication today. John Doorley and Helio Fred Garcia argue that most CEOs don't actually pay much heed to reputation and this is to their peril. This book is a how-to guide for professionals and students in public relations and corporate communication, as well as for CEOs and other leaders. It rests on the premise that reputation can be measured, monitored, and managed. Organized by corporate communication units (media relations, employee communication, government relations, and investor relations, for example), the book provides a field-tested guide to corporate reputation problems such as leaked memos, unfair treatment by the press, and negative rumors - and it is this rare book that focuses on practical solutions. Each chapter is fleshed out with real-world experience by the authors and their contributors who come from a wide range of professional corporate communication backgrounds. This new edition features new and updated examples throughtout, two new chapters on social media and public relations consulting, a new textbox feature in each chapter relating key communication theories to the practice of public relations and corporate communication, expanded coverage of global issues, and a new Companion Website at: www.routledge.com/textbooks/doorley, featuring lecture materials for instructors and extensive learning resources for students and professionals.

This new edition: Identifies the skills and strategies needed to conduct authentic, trustworthy research Highlights specific analytical techniques associated within the main research approaches; Provides new sections on internet-based research, critical discourse analysis, historical research, action research and mixed methods research Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications will be invaluable for those undertaking research methods courses on public relations and marketing communication degrees, as well as those working on a dissertation.

When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession. Reader's Guide topics include Crisis Communications & Management, Cyberspace, Ethics, Global Public Relations, Groups, History, Jargon, Management, Media, News, Organizations, Relations, Reports, Research, and Theories & Models. Led by renowned editor Robert L. Heath, with advisory editors and contributors from around the world, the set is designed to reach a wide array of student readers who will go on to serve as opinion leaders for improving the image and ethics of the practice. The Second Edition continues to explore key challenges facing the profession, such as earning the trust and respect of critics and the general public. Much greater emphasis and space will be placed on a theme that was just emerging when the First Edition appeared: the Internet and social media as public relations tools. International coverage and representation has been greatly expanded, as well. Finally, biographies (which are now widely available on the Web) have been deleted to give room to areas of enhanced coverage, and biographical material are included where appropriate within the context of topical entries. However, a long entry on women pioneers in public relations has been included as an appendix.

The Handbook offers a definitive source of the best insights into the definition of the field of public relations, the practice and best practices. It analyzes the impact of new communication technologies and the global challenges of international public relations.

Designed for courses in business ethics, corporate social responsibility, corporate strategy, and organizational behaviour, this text will also be an indispensible companion text for business students to use throughout their full programme of study. This text provides objective coverage of key issues in corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment. Business Ethics in Brief is divided into eight sections which contain important keywords that relate to those sections: Ethics and the Individual; Theories of Ethics; Understanding Global Ethics; Ethics of Management and Business; Employee and Human Resources Issues; Consumer Issues; Ethics of Advertising, Marketing, and PR; and Environmental Issues in Ethics. Key features of the text include the following: - Keyword entries featuring comprehensive essays on such crucial topics as strategic corporate social responsibility, consumer rights, and ethical decision making - A listing of suggested readings for each entry, so that readers can find more information on topics of particular interest. - Three appendices: An appendix of "problematic practices" that highlights key corporations and industries and the ethical issues they faced; an appendix with key ethics institutes and organizations; and an appendix listing key business ethics periodicals

'In this era of 'snackable' content which satisfies only in the moment, it's great to have a comprehensive Advertising Handbook which one can consult repeatedly. The references are comprehensive and the Handbook opens up many key areas for practitioners' - Hamish Pringle, Director General, IPA 'Finally, a Handbook of Advertising that brings the field up-to-date. I am impressed with its comprehensive coverage of topics and the distinguished specialists who have shared their key findings with us' - Philip Kotler, Kellogg School of Management 'When trying to make sense of the mystifying world of advertising, academics and practitioners often seem to inhabit separate universes. Not in this Handbook. For once, the best brains from each side genuinely collude - with constructive results. Wise agencies will read it before their clients do' - Sir Martin Sorrell, CEO, WPP 'This mighty tome brings together a vast range of views of advertising based on deep experience and scholarship. For practitioners and academics alike, it will be a voyage of discovery and enlightenment' - Lord (Maurice) Saatchi, Chairman, M&C Saatchi 'This magnificent volume captures all we need to know about how advertising works and its context' - Baroness (Peta) Buscombe, Director General, Advertising Association, London Advertising is a field that has attracted a great deal of academic attention, but to date there has been no summarising of the state of the art of research. This far reaching and scholarly Handbook is edited by two highly respected and trusted thinkers in the field and includes contributions from leading academics based in both the UK and the USA. Tim Ambler and Gerald J Tellis archive their aim of setting advertising and the theory that underpins it in its historical and societal context, show-casing the most significant advertising research questions of our time and pointing readers in the direction of future avenues for fruitful investigation. The SAGE Handbook of Advertising would be a welcome addition to any marketing academics bookshelf.

Expanding on the theoretical framework for studying and practicing public relations around the world, The Global Public Relations Handbook, Revised and Expanded Editionextends the discussion in the first volume on the history, development, and current status of the public relations industry from a global perspective. This revised edition offers twenty new chapters in addition to the original contents. It includes fourteen additional country- or regionally-focused chapters exploring public relations practice in Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Contributors use a theoretical framework to present information on the public relations industry in their countries and regions. They also focus on such factors as the status of public relations education in their respective countries and professionalism and ethics. Each country-specific chapter includes a case study typifying public relations practice in that country. Additional new chapters discuss political economy, activism, international public relations, and United Nations public affairs.

This major new Handbook is the first to bring together into one volume the whole field of public opinion theory, research methodology, and the political and social embeddedness of polls in modern societies. It comprehensively maps out the state-of-the-art in contemporary scholarship on these topics. With over fifty chapters written by distinguished international researchers, both academic and from the commercial sector, this Handbook is designed to: - give the reader an overview of the most important concepts included in and surrounding the term "public opinion" and its application in modern social research - present the basic empirical concepts for assessing public opinion and opinion changes in society - provide an overview of the social, political and legal status of public opinion research, how it is perceived by the public and by journalists, and how it is used by governments - offer a review of the role and use of surveys for selected special fields of application, ranging from their use in legal cases to the use of polls in marketing and campaigns. The Handbook of Public Opinion Research provides an indispensable resource for both practitioners and students alike.

With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.Key Themes, Applications and Contexts, Critical Orientations, Cultural Orientations, Cybernetic and Systems Orientations, Feminist Orientations, Group and Organizational Concepts, Information, Media, and Communication Technology, International and Global Concepts, Interpersonal Concepts, Non-Western Orientations, Paradigms, Traditions, and Schools, Philosophical Orientations, Psycho-Cognitive Orientations, Rhetorical Orientations, Semiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive Orientations, Social/Interactional Orientations Theory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry

A Handbook of Media and Communication Researchpresents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. Taking methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical concerns with theoretical issues, the Handbook offers a comprehensive and in-depth review of the field and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out media and communication studies in different social and cultural contexts. The second edition has been thoroughly updated with reference to the development of the internet, mobile, and other digital media. Each chapter addresses shifting configurations of established media organizations, media discourses, and media users in networked practices of communication. The introduction and one further chapter probe changing conceptions on mass and interpersonal, online and offline communication - in research as in everyday life. Three new chapters have been added to exemplify different forms of research employing multiple methods to study multiple media in multiple contexts. List of contributors:Klaus Bruhn Jensen, Barrie Gunter, Rasmus Helles, Annette Hill, Stig Hjarvard, Peter Larsen, Amanda Lotz, Graham Murdock, Horace Newcomb, Paddy Scannell, Lynn Schofield Clark, Kim Christian Schrøder