Spanish language & literature: Resources for Graduate Program

Improve your Spanish language skills with authentic texts The best way to bring the grammar of a language to life is by experiencing it in context, as it is actually used by native speakers and writers. Designed for the intermediate and advanced student,Spanish Grammar in Contextputs Spanish grammar into context for you with an array of engaging texts, including newspaper articles, song lyrics, literary texts, and even transcriptions from TV talk shows. Each chapter focuses on a specific element of grammar. A short text is followed by an explanation of the relevant grammar and several exercises. Exercises center on specific topics and stress everyday words and expressions. You get to build your vocabulary while honing grammar skills.

The perfect companion for tourists and business travelers in Spain and Latin America, this book offers fast, effective communication. Over 1,000 basic words, phrases, and sentences cover everything from asking directions to making reservations and ordering dinner. A phonetic pronunciation guide accompanies each phrase.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Contributions of Iberian-born writers have gone largely unrecognized by most European and American readers. The rich history of literary achievements in the Iberian Penninsula is now available in this unprecedented dictionary. Defining literature in the broad sense, the Dictionary includes historical, religious, cultural and philosophical writings as well as prose, poetry, and drama from the Iberian Peninsula. Virtually all entries have been composed by noted scholars and are complemented wherever possible by bibliographies of primary texts and selected critical studies as well as existing English translations of primary texts. This two-volume work generally includes literature from the tenth century to the mid-1980s and--with a few exceptions--is limited to writers born in the Iberian Peninsula. A guide to determining the format of the Dictionary was the classic Diccionario de Literatura Espanola by German Bleiberg and Julian Marias. But this updated and reworked version devotes more attention to writings by formerly neglected or forgotten works by female authors and to writers in major languages other than Spanish in the peninsula, including Portuguese, Catalan and Galician. There are also entries on major time periods, movements, and other topics. Titles of works discussed are translated to English. Wherever possible, the text of each entry is followed by a three part bibliography; and some cross-referencing. The Dictionary will appeal to English-speaking non-specialists as well as scholars of Iberian literature.

Shelved in the Reference Collection

A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies. Most entries are of 1500 words but the encyclopedia also includes survey articles of up to 10,000 words on the literature of individual countries, of the colonial period, and of ethnic minorities, including the Hispanic communities in the United States. Besides presenting and illuminating the traditional canon, the encyclopedia also stresses the contribution made by women authors and by contemporary writers. Outstanding Reference Source Outstanding Reference Book

Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between thenbsp;sixteenth and twentiethnbsp;centuries. This features thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies. Focusing on drama, poetry, and fiction, this work includes authors who have published at least three literary texts that have had a significant impact on Latin American literature and culture. Each entry is followed by extensive bibliographic references, including primary and secondary sources. Coverage consists of critical appreciation and analysis of the writers' works. Brief biographical data is included, but the main focus is on the meanings and contexts of the works as well as their cultural and political impact. In addition to author entries, other themes are explored, such as humor in contemporary Latin American fiction, lesbian literature in Latin America, magic, realism, or mother images in Latin American literature. The aim is to provide a unique, thorough, scholarly survey of women writers and their works in Latin America. This Encyclopedia will be of interest to both to the student of literature as well as to any reader interested in understanding more about Latin American culture, literature, and how women have represented gender and national issues throughout the centuries.

Containing roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world, this expansive work provides coverage of the varied countries, ethnicities, time periods, literary movements, and genres of these writings. Providing a thorough introduction to Spanish-language literature worldwide and across time is a tall order. However, World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia contains roughly 850 entries on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, affording an amazingly comprehensive reference collection in a single work. This encyclopedia describes the growing diversity within national borders, the increasing interdependence among nations, and the myriad impacts of Spanish literature across the globe. All countries that produce literature in Spanish in Europe, Africa, the Americas, and Asia are represented, covering both canonical authors and emerging contemporary writers and trends. Underrepresented writings--such as texts by women writers, queer and Afro-Hispanic texts, children's literature, and works on relevant but less studied topics such as sports and nationalism--also appear. While writings throughout the centuries are covered, those of the 20th and 21st centuries receive special consideration. Contains roughly 850 A-Z entries related to Spanish-language literature and related topics throughout the world, from the Middle Ages up to the present day Includes contributions from nearly 200 scholars from the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Australia Provides bibliographies containing major English-language print reference works, free electronic sources with peer-reviewed information, major academic websites, and well-established electronic journals Contains an extended glossary of literary and cultural terms such as "subaltern" and basic cultural features of Hispanic society, such as "el barrio" and "Negrismo" Includes a chronological appendix containing entries organized by date