Subject Guides: Payton INSY Graduate Class on Industrial Internet of Things: Books & Journals

Engineering & Physics Librarian

Andrew Wohrley

Email Me

Subjects: Engineering, Physics

Engineering Indexes Links & Lists

Engineering Databases
DOE Data Explorer
Defense Technical Information Center
Access to US Department of Defense research and military standards.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Searches Open Access journals and articles.

Emerald Fulltext This link opens in a new window Emerald Fulltext - the Electronic Management Research Library Database - puts all the resources of full management library on to a standard PC. Brought to you by MCB University Press, it delivers multi-user access to over 130 journals.

Energy Citations Database
Decades long index to US Department of Energy publications and research.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present. (3 simultaneous users)

NTIS
US government research for recent decades published as government documents.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.

science.gov
A gateway to information from 13 government agencies and 60 databases.
SCImago
Provides journal rankings.
Technical Reports
LibGuide of other useful Technical Report sites.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

WorldWideScience.org/
Gateway to global published research. An important site for access to non-American publications and government documents.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Repository of NASA and NACA research, along with the NIX NASA image archive.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window The most important database for chemistry, SciFinder-n covers articles, patents, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations that have been indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service from 1907 to the present. Search by keyword, structure, reaction, chemical name or CAS Registry Number. SciFinder-n indexes articles in the publications of many fields in addition to chemistry if they describe new chemistry. These fields include agriculture, biology, engineering, medicine, physics, textiles, and veterinary medicine.NOTE: First time users must create a user name and password.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window (Journal only Full-text) ASCE is the world's largest publisher of civil engineering information. Includes a searchable database and access to individual journal titles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It also includes news, author's guides, etc.

National Transportation Library
Access to the research of the Bureau of Transportation, some of which is open science.

ACM Portal This link opens in a new window As of June 1, 2001 the Association for Computing Machinery Library contains over 69,000 full-text articles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings. Tables of contents with over 23,000 citations from articles published in journals and magazines from 1954 forward. Tables of contents with more than 48,000 citations from articles published in over 990 volumes of conference proceedings since 1985. About 1/2 million article references for ACM articles are available with about 200,000 links to full bibliographic information for those references, with 50,000 further links to full text.
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window The LearnTechLib focuses on publishing the latest research in educational technology and computers and learning.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users. 15 Simultaneous Users
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window Ergonomics Abstracts is an abstracting service spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. In addition to abstracting mainstream ergonomics resources, Ergonomics Abstracts is also a good source of information for the fields of biomechanics, human engineering, human-computer interaction, job design, medicine, occupational health, physiology, psychology, safety science, sports and transportation.

INFORMS
Index to the publications of INFORMS, the major professional society of Industrial Engineering.

SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window An information management system that provides full-text SAE technical documents via the web.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window (Journal only Full-text) Provides full-text access to journals from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers along with abstracts/indexing for their conference proceedings.
Textile Technology Index This link opens in a new window Provides international coverage of textile literature and related subjects. The database covers journals as well as books, theses, patents, standards and conferences. Subjects include dyeing, mill operation, man-made fibers, preservation, apparel design, marketing and statistics.

How to Set Up Engineering Village E-mail Alerts

Engineering Village allows you to set up feeds that will email you updates that match the terms you give it. This can work for keyword searching (i.e machining AND steel), or you can do the same for journal titles. (i.e Geosynthetics and Geomembranes).

Here are the steps you need to follow.

1.) Click on the link to Engineering Village

2.) If you do not have a personal login set up, create one now.

3.) Perform your search. If you are searching for a journal, be sure to go to the pull-down menu to the right and select Source title. You should then receive a list of titles every time the table of contents for that journal updates

4.) Click Search

5.) Now click the "Create Alert" link at the top of the page.

You should now have the new articles in the journal sent to you.